Executive Committee

NACo Officers 2019-2020

NACo President Mary Ann Borgeson

Commissioner, Douglas County, Neb.

Read Bio

First Vice President Gary Moore

Judge-Executive, Boone County, Ky.

Read Bio

Second Vice President Larry Johnson

Commissioner, DeKalb County, Ga.

Read Bio

Past President Greg Cox

Supervisor, San Diego County, Calif.

Read Bio

Regional Representatives

West Region | Joe Briggs

Commissioner, Cascade County, Mont.

Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming

Central Region | Cindy Bobbitt

Commissioner, Grant County, Okla.

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma and Wisconsin

South Region | Ray Jeffers

Commissioner, Person County, N.C.

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia

Northeast Region | Christian Leinbach

Commission Chair, Berks County, Pa.

Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and West Virginia. (Note: Vermont, Connecticut and Rhode Island would also be a part of the Northeast Region, but do not have NACo members.)

NACo Executive Director

Matthew D. Chase

Read Bio

Stronger Counties. Stronger America.

About NACo

The National Association of Counties (NACo) strengthens America’s counties, serving nearly 40,000 county elected officials and 3.6 million county employees.  Founded in 1935, NACo unites county officials to:

  • Advocate county priorities in federal policymaking
  • Promote exemplary county policies and practices
  • Nurture leadership skills and expand knowledge networks
  • Optimize county and taxpayer resources and cost savings, and
  • Enrich the public’s understanding of county government.


Strengthen America’s counties.


Healthy, safe and vibrant counties across America.