Justice & Public Safety Steering Committee

All matters pertaining to criminal justice and public safety systems, including ​criminal justice planning, law enforcement, courts, corrections, homeland security, community crime prevention, juvenile justice and delinquency prevention, emergency management, fire prevention and control, and civil disturbances.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Policy Briefs

Latest Resources

  • Reports & Toolkits | Aug. 2, 2019

    The August recess in the federal legislative calendar provides a unique opportunity for county leaders to communicate with members of Congress, demonstrate the impact of your efforts in your communities and advocate for the federal programs that help to strengthen local programs and initiatives.

  • Reports & Toolkits | Jul. 2, 2019

    Convened in March 2019, the National Association of Counties (NACo) and National Sheriffs' Association (NSA) joint task force is exploring and raising awareness about the impacts of the Medicaid Inmate Exclusion Policy (MIEP)

  • Video | Jun. 10, 2019

    This week's video includes a bipartisan bill that would permanently authorize the PILT program, a $19.1 billion disaster aid package for communities impacted by last year’s hurricanes and wildfires, the latest on the appropriations front and more.

Join a steering committee and make a difference. Learn more about getting involved in NACo's Justice & Public Safety Steering Committee:

Justice and Public Safety Steering Committee


David Hudson
County Judge
Sebastian County, Arkansas


Vice Chair

Alisha Bell
Commission Chair
Wayne County, Michigan


Katie Cashion
Guilford County, North Carolina


George Dunlap
Mecklenburg County, North Carolina


Sally Heyman
Miami-Dade County, Florida


William Truex
Charlotte County, Florida


Subcommittee Chair

Paul Heimel (Courts and Corrections)
Potter County, Pennsylvania


Tammy Lee (Law Enforcement)
Bertie County, North Carolina


Darry Stacy (Homeland Security)
Cleveland County, Oklahoma


Janet Thompson (Juvenile)
Associate Commissioner
Boone County, Missouri


Subcommittee Vice Chair

Luis Alvarez (Law Enforcement)
Sullivan County, New York


Michael Daniels (Courts and Corrections)
Director, Justice Policy & Programs
Franklin County, Ohio


Dennis Deer (Juvenile)
Cook County, Illinois


Daniel Degear (Homeland Security)
Town Supervisor
Madison County, New York


Paul Elliott (Law Enforcement)
Justice of the Peace
Pulaski County, Arkansas


Julia Fisher-Perrier (Homeland Security)
St. Charles Parish, Louisiana


Judson Freed (Homeland Security)
Director, Emergency Management & Homeland Security
Ramsey County, Minnesota


Barry Hyde (Juvenile)
County Judge
Pulaski County, Arkansas


Christian Marcus (Law Enforcement)
Antrim County, Michigan


Mary Jo McGuire (Juvenile)
Ramsey County, Minnesota


Waymon Mumford (Law Enforcement)
Council Member
Florence County, South Carolina


David Nicholson (Courts and Corrections)
Circuit Court Clerk
Louisville Jefferson County Metro Government, Kentucky


Heather Post (Courts and Corrections)
Volusia County, Florida


Renee Price (Courts and Corrections)
Orange County, North Carolina


Shelia Stubbs (Law Enforcement)
Dane County, Wisconsin


Randy Thompson (Homeland Security)
Brunswick County, North Carolina


Stephanie Williams (Juvenile)
Kalamazoo County, Michigan



  • Associate Legislative Director – Justice and Public Safety  
    (202) 942-4217

More From