County News

NACo election credentials forms to be mailed in May

Error message

In order to filter by the "in queue" property, you need to add the Entityqueue: Queue relationship.

NACo’s 2019 Annual Conference in Clark County, Nev., is right around the corner, which means member counties are eligible to vote on advancing NACo’s national policy agenda and elect a 2nd Vice President for the coming year. This year’s election will be held on Monday, July 15 at 9:30 a.m., during the business meeting at the Annual Conference.

Voting credentials are a county’s eligibility to vote and verify the number of votes they have for NACo elections. NACo validates this information and other voting details through the credentials form. 

In mid-May, every member county’s chief elected official (CEO) and clerk will receive a credentials packet in the mail including: Overview memo, credentials form, voting checklist and frequently asked questions.

Credentials information will also be emailed to Annual Conference registrants and can be accessed online at

In order to be eligible to vote, each member county must:

return their credentials form to NACo by Friday, June 28, signed by the CEO

have paid their dues for 2019 before the voting occurs, and

have at least one representative registered and paid for the 2019 Annual Conference.

The county CEO must indicate on the credentials form the name of the voting delegate and one alternate who is authorized to pick up a county’s voting materials at the conference. State association of counties’ presidents will pick up unclaimed ballots on the evening before the election unless a county’s CEO indicates the state association president cannot pick up the ballot. A county may also elect not to cast its ballot.

The number of votes per county is determined by the dues it pays, which are based on population:

Counties with dues of $450 to $1,199 receive one vote

Counties with dues of $1,200 to $2,399 receive two votes

Counties with dues of $2,400 to $3,599 receive three votes, and so on

The maximum number of votes a county can receive is 51

The NACo Credentials Committee ensures all member counties participating in the election process, either for the election or policy, do so in the most efficient and fair manner.  The committee confirms requests for credentials pickup, helps the process run smoothly, resolves credentials disputes and assists during the election itself.

The 2019 Credentials Committee members are:

Riki Hokama, councilmember, Maui County, Hawaii – Chair

Don Saylor, supervisor, Yolo County, Calif. – Member

Debbie Wise, circuit clerk, Randolph County, Ark. – Member

The NACo bylaws also provide for a parliamentarian, reading clerk and tally clerk to aid in the election process. They are:

Chris Rodgers, commissioner, Douglas County, Neb. – Parliamentarian

Toni Carter, commissioner, Ramsey County, Minn. – Reading Clerk

Cindy Bulloch, county assessor, Iron County, Utah – Tally Clerk

If you have any questions, please contact Lauren Wilson, membership associate, at or call 888. 407.NACo.

Hero 1