Public Lands Steering Committee

All matters relating to federally-owned public lands including federal land ​management programs, natural resource revenue sharing payments, payments in lieu of taxes, and property tax immunity concerns.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Policy Briefs

  • Policy Brief

    Provide Full Mandatory Funding for the Payments in Lieu of Taxes (PILT) Program

    Urge your members of Congress to support mandatory full funding for the Payments in Lieu of Taxes (PILT) program. Because local governments are unable to tax the property values or products derived from federal lands, PILT payments are necessary to support essential local government services. Unless Congress acts, counties will have received their last fully-funded PILT disbursement in 2019. Without mandatory full funding, PILT will remain a discretionary program (subject to the annual appropriations process) and could fall back to pre-2008 funding levels, which would devastate local government service delivery in areas with significant federal land ownership.

Latest Resources

  • Reports & Toolkits | Jan. 13, 2020

    NACo works to preserve local decision making, protect counties from unfunded mandates and preemption and strengthen the federal-state-local partnership.

  • Video | Nov. 21, 2019

    Wrangell Borough, Alaska Mayor Stephen Prysunka testifies before the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee on behalf of NACo at a hearing supporting full PILT funding and SRS reauthorization.

  • Video | Sep. 11, 2019

    As part of the 2019 PILT Fly-In, NACo hosted a briefing on Capitol Hill to share the importance of the PILT program with Members of Congress and their staffs.

Join a steering committee and make a difference. Learn more about getting involved in NACo's Public Lands Steering Committee:

Public Lands Steering Committee


Greg Chilcott
Ravalli County, Montana


Vice Chair

Elizabeth Archuleta
Coconino County, Arizona


Todd Devlin
Prairie County, Montana


Bob Gardner
Mono County, California


Larry Don Suckla
Montezuma County, Colorado


Subcommittee Chair

Mark Owens (Payments)
Harney County, Oregon


Leland Pollock (Land Management)
Commission Chair
Garfield County, Utah


Subcommittee Vice Chair

Joel Bousman
Sublette County, Wyoming


Kathy Chandler-Henry
Eagle County, Colorado


Stacy Corless (Land Management)
Mono County, California


Kuyler Crocker (Payments)
Tulare County, California


Jack Lytle (Payments)
Daggett County, Utah


Tommie Martin
Gila County, Arizona



  • Associate Legislative Director – Public Lands and Liaison to the Western Interstate Region  
    (202) 942-4207