Press Release

State and Local Groups Respond to Supreme Court's South Dakota v. Wayfair Decision

Error message

In order to filter by the "in queue" property, you need to add the Entityqueue: Queue relationship.
  • Document

    State and Local Groups Respond to Supreme Court's South Dakota v. Wayfair Decision

    Printable PDF

    The leading organizations that represent state and local governments – The Council of State Governments, International City/County Management Association, National Association of Counties, National Conference of State Legislatures, National Governors Association, National League of Cities and the U.S. Conference of Mayors – joined by the Government Finance Officers Association, release the following statement regarding the U.S. Supreme Court’s ruling in South Dakota v. Wayfair, which overturned the outdated physical presence test:

    “State and local organizations applaud the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision recognizing that the 1992 Quill ruling put Main Street retailers at a competitive disadvantage to remote sellers and the efforts by states to simplify the sales tax collection process and giving those states remote sales tax collection authority. For 26 years Congress has failed to act and through the efforts of Justice Anthony Kennedy, the federal government has finally recognized the changing nature of commerce and state efforts to simplify the collection process.”

    Contacts:
    Council of State Governments: press@csg.org 
    Government Finance Officers Association: Emily S. Brock, ebrock@gfoa.org 
    International City/County Management Association: Michele Frisby, mfrisby@icma.org 
    National Association of Counties: Paul Guequierre, pguequierre@naco.org
    National Conference of State Legislatures: Mick Bullock, mick.bullock@ncsl.org 
    National Governors Association:  Brittany Donald, bdonald@nga.org 
    National League of Cities: Tom Martin, martin@nlc.org 
    United States Conference of Mayors: Sara Durr, sara@durrcommunications.com 

     

    The leading organizations that represent state and local governments – The Council of State Governments, International City/County Management Association, National Association of Counties, National Conference of State Legislatures, National Governors Association, National League of Cities and the U.S. Conference of Mayors – joined by the Government Finance Officers Association, release the following statement regarding the U.S. Supreme Court’s ruling in South Dakota v. Wayfair, which overturned the outdated physical presence test.
    2018-06-21
    Press Release
    2018-11-05

Related News

Related Resources

More From