National Association of Counties, National League of Cities Name City-County Officials to Task Force Addressing Heroin and Opioid Abuse

NACo primary logo

WASHINGTON — The National League of Cities (NLC) and the National Association of Counties (NACo) today announced the members of a new joint national task force to address our nation’s opioid and heroin abuse crisis. The National City-County Task Force on the Opioid Epidemic is comprised of city and county leaders from across the country who will aim to enhance awareness, facilitate peer exchanges and identify sound policy and partnership solutions.

Counties and cities have recognized that the opioid and heroin abuse crisis has reached epidemic proportions. Drug overdose is now the leading cause of accidental death in the United States, with more than 47,000 lethal drug overdoses in 2014. This epidemic is driven largely by overdose deaths related to prescription pain relievers (18,893) and deaths related to heroin (10,574).

“Our cities are at the forefront of the opioid and heroin crisis in America. It’s up to our city and county leaders to face this epidemic head on,” said NLC President Melodee Colbert-Kean, councilmember, Joplin, Mo. “This joint NLC-NACo task force will work with local community groups and public safety officials to combat heroin and opioid abuse, provide families with vital resources and help make our communities safer.”

“Counties and cities work together in communities every day to address some of our most pressing challenges. One of those challenges is the opioid and heroin abuse crisis that has reached epidemic proportions,” said NACo President Sallie Clark.  “Addressing this issue is a top priority for local leaders because we see firsthand the devastating effects of prescription drug abuse and heroin use every day.  Drawing on the expertise of county and city leaders, this task force will focus on achieving results on the ground and strengthening health, safety and security in our neighborhoods.”

The City-County Task Force Addressing Heroin and Opioid Abuse task force members include: 

NACo Members

  1. Co-Chair – Judge/Executive Gary Moore, Boone County, Ky.
  2. Commissioner Matt Bell, Weber County, Utah
  3. Commissioner Doug Corcoran, Ross County, Ohio
  4. County Executive Kathy Dahlkemper, Erie County, Pa.
  5. Dr. Vidya Kora, commissioner, LaPorte County, Ind.
  6. Commissioner Waymon Mumford, Florence County, S.C.
  7. Supervisor Leticia Perez, Kern County, Calif.
  8. County Executive Mark Poloncarz, Erie County, N.Y.
  9. Commissioner Greg Puckett, Mercer County, W.Va.
  10. County Executive Steve Schuh, Anne Arundel County, Md.
  11. Commissioner Judy Shiprack, Multnomah County, Ore.
  12. Ex-Officio: NACo President Sallie Clark, commissioner, El Paso County, Colo.

NLC Members

  1. Co-Chair – Mayor Mark Stodola, Little Rock, Ark.
  2. Councilmember Leta Mach, Greenbelt, Md.
  3. Mayor Nan Whaley, Dayton, Ohio
  4. Mayor Stephen Williams, Huntington, W.Va.
  5. Police Chief Nick Willard, Manchester, N.H.
  6. Council President Ceasar Mitchell, Atlanta, Ga.
  7. City Manager Lee Feldman, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
  8. Mayor and Councilmember Walt Allen, Corvina, Calif.
  9. Councilmember Joel Navarro, Tempe, Ariz.
  10. Executive Director Geoff Beckwith, Massachusetts Municipal Association
  11. Councilmember Lavonta Williams, Wichita, Kansas  
  12. Ex-Officio: NLC President Melodee Colbert-Kean, councilmember, Joplin, Mo.

The task force will take the following actions:

  • Conduct at least two national dialogues where city and county elected leaders will explore the comprehensive issues related to this crisis, growing trends and proven responses;
  • Develop educational opportunities for counties and cities through special forums, educational workshops, webinars and other opportunities; and
  • Publish a national summary report of city-county collaboration, focusing on community prevention and overdose response, effective treatment options, public safety enforcement and supply reduction.

As part of NACo’s Legislative Conference, NACo and NLC announced the creation of the task force on Feb. 22.  Click here to watch a video of the joint announcement: