County News

From the courthouse to Congress

Error message

In order to filter by the "in queue" property, you need to add the Entityqueue: Queue relationship.
County officials are running for Congress in Utah, Pennsylvania and Minnesota and for the Nevada, Minnesota and New York governors’ mansions

Three county leaders made their way through tough primary fights to take to the field for a shot at a congressional seat in this year’s mid-term elections.

St. Louis County, Minn.  Commissioner Pete Stauber, a retired police lieutenant and a former professional hockey player, is vying as a Republican for an open seat in Minnesota’s 8th Congressional District. He faces Joe Radinovich, a 32-year-old former state representative, first elected to the Minnesota House at 26.

The seat is held by Rep. Rick Nolan (D), who is retiring. Minnesota’s 8th District covers northeastern Minnesota, an area nicknamed the “Iron Range.”

In Utah’s hottest congressional race, Salt Lake County Mayor Ben McAdams is challenging GOP incumbent Rep. Mia Love for the state’s 4th District seat. McAdams began the contest polling an average six points behind Love, but now most polls have the two candidates in a dead heat.

Moving east: Gold medalist Olympian and Lehigh County, Pa. Board Chair Marty Nothstein hopes to capture the newly redrawn 7th Congressional District seat in a face-off against Democrat Susan Wild, an attorney and former Allentown city solicitor and Libertarian candidate Tim Silfies. Latest polls show Wild with a seven-point lead over Nothstein.

The new 7th District is primarily composed of the old 15th District, represented by retiring Rep. Charlie Dent (R). The district also includes portions of the former 10th and 17th districts. It is based around Allentown, Pa.

Meanwhile, in statewide elections, county commissioners from Clark County, Nev. and Hennepin County, Minn. are competing in races for the governor’s mansion.

Stephen F. Sisolak, chair of the Clark County, Nev. Board of Commissioners is running against Republican State Attorney General Adam Laxalt. The winner will replace outgoing Republican Gov. Brian Sandoval.

Laxalt has been endorsed by President Trump, but so far has failed to receive Sandoval’s endorsement. Two former Democratic governors have backed Sisolak. To date, Laxalt holds a five-point advantage.

In the Minnesota’s governor’s race, Hennepin County Commissioner Jeff Johnson is the Republican candidate taking on Democrat Tim Walz. In an upset victory, Johnson defeated former Minnesota Gov. Tim Pawlenty, the Republican primary. If he wins, Johnson would replace outgoing Gov. Mark Dayton (D), who defeated Johnson in his first bid for the governor’s mansion in 2014.

In the Empire State, Dutchess County, N.Y. Executive Marcus Molinaro is squaring off against Democrat incumbent Gov. Andrew Cuomo as Cuomo seeks a third term to lead the nation’s fourth-largest state.

In addition to serving as Dutchess County executive, Molinaro, 46, also served as mayor of Tivoli, N.Y., when he was 19, making him the youngest mayor in the country in 1994. He has served as county executive since 2011.

Hero 1