National City-County Task Force on the Opioid Epidemic

The National League of Cities (NLC) and the National Association of Counties (NACo) have launched a joint task force to address our nation’s opioid and heroin abuse crisis. The National City-County Task Force on the Opioid Epidemic is comprised of city and county leaders from across the country and will convene twice to discuss the role of cities and counties in addressing the current crisis, beginning with a meeting in Washington, D.C. in April. Following these convenings, the Task Force will publish a report featuring policy recommendations and best practices.

Task Force Objectives

The Task Force will explore how cities and counties collaborate to address the opioid epidemic and how local leaders can help to build upon these collaborations and scale them nationally, in order to improve outcomes in local communities across America that have been impacted by the epidemic. The Task Force will aim to increase awareness of the opioid epidemic, elevate proven solutions, provide policy recommendations to local, state and federal governments, and disseminate guidance and solutions to city and county officials. 

Task Force Resources

Final Task Force Report

Latest Resources:


If you have questions or would like more information on the task force, please contact Hadi Sedigh at or Jim Brooks at

Task Force Members

NACo members :

  • Co-Chair – Judge/Executive Gary Moore, Boone County, Ky.
  • Commissioner Matt Bell, Weber County, Utah
  • Commissioner Doug Corcoran, Ross County, Ohio
  • County Executive Kathy Dahlkemper, Erie County, Pa.
  • Dr. Vidya Kora, Commissioner, LaPorte County, Ind.
  • County Council Member Waymon Mumford, Florence County, S.C.
  • Supervisor Leticia Perez, Kern County, Calif.
  • County Executive Mark Poloncarz, Erie County, N.Y.
  • Commissioner Greg Puckett, Mercer County, W.Va.
  • County Executive Steve Schuh, Anne Arundel County, Md.
  • Commissioner Judy Shiprack, Multnomah County, Ore.
  • Ex-Officio: NACo President Sallie Clark, commissioner, El Paso County, Colo.

NLC members:

  • Co-Chair – Mayor Mark Stodola, Little Rock, Ark.
  • Councilmember Leta Mach, Greenbelt, Md.
  • Mayor Nan Whaley, Dayton, Ohio
  • Mayor Stephen Williams, Huntington, W.Va.
  • Police Chief Nick Willard, Manchester, N.H.
  • Council President Ceasar Mitchell, Atlanta, Ga.
  • City Manager Lee Feldman, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
  • Mayor and Councilmember Walt Allen, Corvina, Calif.
  • Councilmember Joel Navarro, Tempe, Ariz.
  • Executive Director Geoff Beckwith, Massachusetts Municipal Association
  • Councilmember Lavonta Williams, Wichita, Kansas  
  • Ex-Officio: NLC President Melodee Colbert-Kean, councilmember, Joplin, Mo.