CNCounty News

Prepare for NACo's annual business meeting and election this July

Image of ABM22.jpg

Key Takeaways

NACo’s 2023 annual business meeting and election will be held in-person Monday, July 24 in Travis County, Texas. During the meeting, credentialed NACo members elect NACo officers, set our national policy agenda and conduct other association business.  

Voting credentials verify a member county, parish or borough’s eligibility to vote and the number of votes they can cast at the meeting. To be eligible to vote, NACo members should: 

Register for the 2023 Annual Conference 

• Pay 2023 NACo membership dues in full, and 

• Designate one voting delegate by Monday, July 17, 2023 at 5 p.m. EDT. 


To facilitate the voting process, members should only authorize one primary voting delegate per county and must provide the cell phone number of the voting delegate. The county’s chief elected official, clerk to the county board and conference registrants can visit to appoint their primary delegate or proxy online. A proxy voter can be another county attendee from the same state or your state association of counties. 

Paper voting credential forms will not be mailed to member counties but can be accessed electronically by visiting

A member’s vote total is determined by the amount of dues paid and dues are based on the population of the 2010 census. Every county receives one vote and is allotted an additional vote for each $1,200 paid in dues.  

• Counties with dues of $450 to $1,199 receive one vote  

• Counties with dues of $1,200 to $2,399 receive two votes  

• Counties with dues of $2,400 to $3,599 receive three votes, and so on  

• The maximum number of votes a county can receive is 51  


NACo’s Credentials Committee ensures that the process for the meeting is fair and transparent. The committee guides the credentials process, resolves any credentials disputes and assists during the election itself.  

The 2023 Credentials Committee members are:    

• Chair - Hon. Karen Digh Allen, public administrator, Callaway County, Mo. 

• Member - Hon. Eugene Oliver, chair, Iberia Parish, La. 

• Member - Hon. Janet Thompson, commissioner, Boone County, Mo. 

• Reading Clerk - Hon. Chuck Washington, supervisor, Riverside County, Calif. 

• Tally Clerk - Hon. Matt Prochaska, circuit clerk, Kendall County, Ill.  


NACo members will receive additional information on credentials and appointing a delegate by mail and email in June. More information can be accessed at or by emailing

Tagged In:


Related News

President James Gore
Press Release

Gore Takes Office as National Association of Counties President

Sonoma County, Calif. Supervisor James Gore was sworn in as president of the National Association of Counties (NACo) on July 15 at the conclusion of NACo’s 89th Annual Conference in Hillsborough County, Fla. 

NACo President James Gore, Sonoma County, Calif. supervisor, pauses for a photo Monday after being sworn in, with First Vice President Judge J.D. Clark of Wise County, Texas; Second Vice President George Dunlap of Mecklenburg County, N.C. and Immediate Past President Commissioner Mary Jo McGuire of Ramsey County, Minn. in Hillsborough County, Fla. Photo by Denny Henry
County News

Sonoma County’s James Gore takes the lead at NACo

Surrounded by his family, Sonoma County, Calif. Supervisor James Gore was sworn in July 15 as NACo’s new president at the association’s Annual Business Meeting at the Tampa Convention Center in Hillsborough County, Fla.