

MARCH 8-26 www.NACo.org/Leg2021

# **Transportation Policy Steering Committee** *Resolutions & Business Meeting*

Monday, March 8, 2021 | 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM Eastern time | Zoom passcode: 582086

#### TRANSPORTATION POLICTY STEERING COMMITTEE LEADERSHIP

### **FULL COMMITTEE**

Chair:Hon. Liz Hausmann, Commissioner, Fulton County, Ga.Vice Chair:Mr. Bill Altimus, Parish Administrator, Bossier Parish, La.Vice Chair:Mr. Richie Beyer, Chief Operations Officer, Elmore County, Ala.

Vice Chair: Hon. Gary Fickes, Commissioner, Tarrant County, Texas
Vice Chair: Hon. Bill Holen, Commissioner, Arapahoe County, Colo.
Vice Chair: Hon. Barry Hyde, County Judge, Pulaski County, Ark.
Vice Chair: Hon. Jack Mariano, Commissioner, Pasco County, Fla.
Vice Chair: Hon. Paul Savas, Commissioner, Clackamas County, Ore.

#### **AIRPORTS SUBCOMMITTEE**

Chair: Hon. Melissa Daub, Commissioner Wayne County, Mich.
Vice Chair: Hon. Kris Knochelmann, Judge Executive, Kenton County, Ky.
Vice Chair: Hon. Kathy Stegenga, County Legislator, Orange County, N.Y.
Vice Chair: Hon. Vance Stuehrenberg, Commissioner, Blue Earth County, Minn.

# HIGHWAY/HIGHWAY SAFETY SUBCOMMITTEE

**Chair:** Hon. Heather Buch, *Commissioner*, Lane County, Ore.

Vice Chair: Mr. Daniel Fedderly, Executive Director, Wisconsin County Highway Association, Wis.

**Vice Chair:** Mr. John Mahre, *Deputy Judge Executive*, Christian County, Ky.

**Vice Chair:** Hon. Eugene Olivier, *Chair*, Iberia Parish, La.

Vice Chair:Hon. Todd Ruckel, Judge Executive, Lewis County, Ky.Vice Chair:Mr. Richard Sanders, County Engineer, Polk County, Minn.Vice Chair:Hon. Alton Shepherd, Supervisor, Apache County, Ariz.Vice Chair:Hon. Jack Stewart, Commissioner, Canadian County, Okla.

#### **PORTS SUBCOMMITTEE**

Chair: Hon. Patrick Farrell, Commissioner, Chatham County, Ga.
Vice Chair: Hon. Ron Burrows, Commissioner, Rogers County, Okla.
Vice Chair: Hon. Sharon Middleton, Councilmember, Baltimore City, Md.
Vice Chair: Hon. Lisa Weik, Commissioner, Washington County, Minn.

## TRANSIT/RAIL SUBCOMMITTEE

**Chair:** Hon. Bob Lucey, *Commissioner*, Washoe County, Nev.

Vice Chair: Hon. Denise Driehaus, Commissioner, Hamilton County, Ohio Vice Chair: Hon. Marlene Fosque, Commissioner, Gwinnett County, Ga. Hon. Stanley Moore, Commissioner, Cook County, Ill.

Vice Chair: Hon. Matthew Prochaska, *Board Member*, Kendall County, Ill. Vice Chair: Hon. Robert Weinroth, Commissioner, Palm Beach County, Fla.

# **MEETING AGENDA**

#### 3:00 PM: Call to Order and Welcome Remarks

Hon. Liz Hausmann, Commissioner, Fulton County, Ga.

#### 3:05 PM: Remarks from the U.S. Senate Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee

The Senate EPW Committee has jurisdiction over critical parts of the surface transportation reauthorization, including funding for highways, roads and bridges. Hear from the Committee's senior staff to learn more about developments we may see from EPW this year and what they could mean for local governments.

Ms. Lauren Baker, Professional Staff Member – Ranking Member Capito, Senate EPW Committee

## 3:30 PM: The Future of the Highway Trust Fund (HTF)

Incorporated in 1981, the Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget (CRFB) is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that provides public education on issues that have the potentially to significantly impact fiscal policy. With insolvency of the federal HTF looming, hear from CRFB's Deputy Policy Director to learn more about the future of the fund and efforts lawmakers may take to improve its revenue sources.

Mr. Tyler Evilsizer, Deputy Policy Director, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

# 3:50 PM: Video Segment – Transportation Technologies

- Hon. Diane Burgis, Supervisor, Contra Costa County, Calif. on the county's Bay Area Drone Test Site
- American Association of Railroads on the Transportation Technology Center, Inc.

# 4:00 PM: Biden Administration Priorities for the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT)

With bold federal investments in our country's infrastructure potentially on the horizon, join the USDOT Deputy Assistant Secretary for Intergovernmental Affairs to learn more about the new Administration's priorities for transportation and infrastructure.

• Mr. Charles Small, Deputy Assistant Secretary – Intergovernmental Affairs, U.S. Department of Transportation

# 4:20 PM: Update from the National Association of County Engineers (NACE)

Hear an update from the President of NACE – NACo Transportation Committee's affiliate. NACE acts as the voice of county roads and bridges and engages in crucial federal advocacy efforts with Congressional lawmakers and Administration officials to provide support for our many county-owned transportation assets.

• Mr. Scott McGolpin, Public Works Director, Santa Barbara County, Calif.

# 4:35 PM: Reading and Discussion of Interim Resolutions

Policy resolutions are single-purpose documents that address a specific issue or piece of legislation. Resolutions draw attention to a topic of current concern, provide a clarification to the platform or set policy in areas not covered by the platform. Any resolutions passed during the meeting will remain valid until NACo's 2021 Annual Conference.

1. Proposed Interim Resolution Directing the U.S. Department of Transportation to Reinstate the Local Labor Hiring Preference Pilot Program

Sponsor: L.A. County, Calif. Board of Supervisors

2. Proposed Interim Resolution Supporting Local Preference Programs on Federally-Funded Transportation & Infrastructure Projects

Sponsor: Gretchen Cassini, Mobility Advancement Program Administrator, Broward County, Fla.

# 4:55 PM: Closing Remarks

Hon. Liz Hausmann, Commissioner, Fulton County, Ga.

#### 5:00 PM: Meeting Concludes