DISASTERS: A Resilient Counties Discussion on Flood Preparation & Response

Saturday, February 25, 11:30 AM—1:00 PM | Marriott Wardman Park Hotel | Room: Roosevelt 5

Resilient Counties Advisory Board Leadership

Chair: Hon. Kitty Barnes, Commissioner, Catawba County, N.C.
Vice Chair: Hon. Liz Archuleta, Supervisor, Coconino County, Ariz.
Vice Chair: Hon. Kathie Gannon, Commissioner, DeKalb County, Ga.
Vice Chair: Hon. Patricia S. O'Bannon, Supervisor, Henrico County, Va.
Vice Chair: Hon. Victoria Reinhardt, Commissioner, Ramsey County, Minn.
Vice Chair: Hon. Darry Stacy, Commissioner, Cleveland County, Okla.

Meeting Agenda

Call to Order and Welcome

• Hon. Kitty Barnes, Commissioner, Catawba County, N.C.

Panel on North Carolina Counties' Response to and Early Recovery from Hurricane Matthew

Representatives from across North Carolina will discuss their response to and early recovery from Hurricane Matthew, including what mitigation strategies have best benefitted the counties.

- Mr. Mike Sprayberry, Director, North Carolina Emergency Management
- Hon. Ron Wesson, Commissioner, Bertie County, N.C.
- Mr. George Wood, County Manager, Wayne County, N.C.
- Moderator: Mr. Mike Herman, Emergency Management Services, EY

Launch of The Nature Conservancy's (TNC) Naturally Resilient Communities Guide

As a follow up to the Rethinking Flood Protection and Resiliency through Natural Infrastructure focus group discussion at NACo 2016 Annual Conference, NACo and TNC will launch the Green Infrastructure Online Guide, which highlights Escambia County's use of green infrastructure strategies in its recovery from major flooding in April 2014.

- Hon. Grover Robinson, Commissioner, Escambia County, Fl.
- Mr. Nate Woiwode, Risk Reduction & Resilience Project Manager North America Water Program, TNC

Discussion with Environment, Energy, and Land Use Steering Committee (EELU) Leadership

The Resilient Counties Advisory Board and EELU Leadership will discuss strategies to align our programming and priorities moving forward.

- **EELU Chair**: Hon. Gary Moore, Judge/Executive, Boone County, Ky.
- **EELU Vice Chairs**: Hon. Penelope Gross, Supervisor, Fairfax County, Va.; Hon. Kitty Barnes, Commissioner, Catawba County, N.C.; Hon. Victoria Reinhardt, Commissioner, Ramsey County, Minn; Hon. Dave Somers, County Executive, Snohomish County, Wash.; and Hon. Douglas Smith, Commissioner, Martin County, Fla.

Meeting Concludes

NACo staff contact: Jenna Moran, Program Manager, jmoran@naco.org or 202.942.4224