

# Environment, Energy and Land Use Steering Committee Business Meeting

Tuesday, March 9, 3:00 P.M. - 5:00 P.M.

## Environment, Energy and Land Use Steering Committee Leadership

| Chair:      | Hon. Melissa Cribbins, Commissioner, Coos County, Ore.             |
|-------------|--|
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Kitty Barnes, Commissioner, Catawba County, N.C.              |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Robert Cole, Commissioner, Santa Rosa County, Fla.            |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Tara Gaston, Supervisor, Saratoga County, N.Y.                |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Penny Gross, Supervisor, Fairfax County, Va.                  |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. David Painter, Commissioner, President, Clermont County, Ohio |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Connie Rockco, Supervisor President, Harrison County, Miss.   |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Doug Smith, Commissioner Martin County, Fla.                  |

# Air Subcommittee:

| Chair:      | Hon. Brigid Shea, Commissioner, Travis County, Texas      |
|-------------|---|
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Martha Robertson, Legislator, Thompkins County, N.Y. |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Adrian Garcia, Commissioner, Harris County, Texas    |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Ken Cornell, Commissioner, Alachua County, Fla.      |

## **Energy Subcommittee:**

| Chair:      | Hon. Ron Peters, Commissioner, Tulsa County, Okla.            |
|-------------|---|
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Anna Hansen, Commissioner, Santa Fe County, N.M.         |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Archie Chaisson, Parish President, Lafourche Parish, La. |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Denis Pitman, Commissioner, Yellowstone County, Mont.    |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Gregory Todd, Commissioner, Duchesne County, Utah        |

## Land Use Subcommittee:

| Vice Chair: | Hon. Michael Logsdon, Magistrate, Oldham County, Ky.        |
|-------------|---|
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Lee Patterson, Commissioner, Calhoun County, Ala.      |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Carol Vinton, Supervisor, Mills County, Iowa           |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Dwight Washington, Commissioner, Clinton County, Mich. |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Terry Wilbur, Legislator, Oswego County, N.Y.          |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Robert Zapple, Commissioner, New Hanover County, N.C.  |

#### Water Subcommittee:

| Chair:      | Hon. Victoria Reinhardt, Ramsey County, Minn.            |
|-------------|--|
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Thomas Barnes, Commissioner, Colbert County, Ala.   |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Renee Couch, Treasurer, Comal County, Texas         |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Tim Richards, Council Member, Hawaii County, Hawaii |
| Vice Chair: | Hon. Kenton Ward, Surveyor, Hamilton County, Ind.        |



# **Meeting Agenda**

## Call to Order and Welcome

• Hon. Melissa Cribbins, Commissioner, Coos County, Ore.

# Environment, Energy and Land Use Steering Committee Business Meeting

During the Business Meeting, EELU Steering Committee members will discuss and vote on proposed interim policy resolutions. Interim policy resolutions are generally single-purpose documents addressing a specific issue or piece of legislation. Resolutions draw attention to a topic of current concern, clarify parts of the broadly worded platform, or set policy in areas not covered by the platform. These resolutions are valid until NACo's 2021 Annual Conference.

- Proposed Interim Resolution Encouraging Congress to Enact the National Heritage Area Act to Establish Uniform Criteria, Oversight, Accountability and Funding Stability for Congressionally-designated National Heritage Areas (NHA)
  - Sponsored by Anna Hansen, Commissioner, Santa Fe County, N.M.
- Proposed Interim Resolution to Protect and Enhance Pollinator Species and Their Habitat Throughout Our Nation's Counties
  - Sponsored by Anna Hansen, Commissioner, Santa Fe County, N.M.
- Proposed Interim Resolution to Include Local Government Entities within CWA Section 404 Permitting Exclusions
  - Sponsored by Robby Miller, President, Tangipahoa Parish, La.
  - Proposed Interim Resolution Supporting the Development of a National Equity Map
    - Sponsored by David Carter, Council Member, New Castle County, Del.

# Guest Speakers (4:00 PM Eastern)

- Liz Archuleta, Director, Office of Intergovernmental Affairs, U.S. Department of Agriculture
- **Casey Katims**, Deputy Associate Administrator for Intergovernmental Affairs, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Jamie Piziali, Municipal Ombudsman, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Elizabeth Noll, Deputy Assistant Secretary, House Affairs, Office of Congressional and Intergovernmental Affairs, U.S. Department of Energy

# Meeting Concludes

NACo staff contact: Adam Pugh, Associate Legislative Director, apugh@naco.org or 202.942.4269