

Transportation Policy Steering Committee Business Meeting

Thursday, July 21, 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM MT | Location: Cottonwood 2/3, Level One

Full Committee Leadership

Chair: Hon. Liz Hausmann, *Vice Chairman*, Fulton County, Ga.

Vice Chair: Mr. Richie Beyer, Chief Operations Officer, Elmore County, Ala.

Vice Chair: Mr. Daniel Fedderly, Executive Director, Wisconsin County Highway Association

Vice Chair:Hon. Gary Fickes, Commissioner, Tarrant County, TexasVice Chair:Hon. Eileen Higgins, Commissioner, Miami-Dade County, Fla.Vice Chair:Hon. Bill Holen, Commissioner, Arapahoe County, Colo.Vice Chair:Hon. Barry Hyde, County Judge, Pulaski County, Ark.

Vice Chair: Hon. Paul Savas, Commissioner, Clackamas County, Ore.

Vice Chair: Hon. Vance Stuehrenberg, *Commissioner*, Blue Earth County, Minn.

Meeting Agenda

2:00 PM: Call to Order and Welcome Remarks

Hon. Liz Hausmann, Chairman, NACo Transportation Committee; Commissioner, Fulton County, Ga.

2:05 PM: Implementing the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law: Technical Assistance Session with the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT)

As counties consider turning the BIL's investments into transformative transportation and infrastructure projects, learn more from USDOT officials about resources for counties to apply for current and future notices of funding.

- Rob Hyman, ROUTES Program Manager, USDOT
- Charles Small, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Intergovernmental Affairs, USDOT

3:05 PM: 10-Minute Break

3:15 PM: Consideration of Proposed Policy Resolutions & Platform Changes

Policy resolutions are single-purpose documents that address a specific issue or piece of legislation. Resolutions draw attention to a topic of current concern, provide a clarification to the platform or set policy in areas not covered by the platform. Any resolutions passed during the meeting will remain valid until NACo's 2023 Annual Conference.

 Proposed Resolution in Support of Direct Funding to Local Governments for the Improvement and Maintenance of Local Roads in America within any Proposed Infrastructure Spending Bill Sponsor: Richie Beyer, Chief Operations Officer, Elmore County, Ala.; Scott McGolpin, Public Works Director, Santa Barbara County Calif.; National Association of County Engineers 2. Resolution in Support of Eliminating Regulatory Impediments for Effective Delivery of Federal Aid Projects

Sponsor: Richie Beyer, Chief Operations Officer, Elmore County, Ala.; Scott McGolpin, Public Works Director, Santa Barbara County Calif.; National Association of County Engineers

3. Proposed Resolution to Amend Federal Law Regarding the Use of Federal Highway Administration Emergency Relief Funds

Sponsor: Zach Friend, Supervisor, Santa Cruz County, California; California State Association of Counties (CSAC)

4. Proposed Resolution on County Road Funding for Forest Health

Sponsor: Wes McCart, Commissioner, Stevens County, Wash.

- 5. Proposed Resolution Urging Federal Policy Makers to Provide Direct Funding to Counties to Support the Deployment of Electric Vehicle Charging Stations and to Study Alternatives to the Federal Gas Tax Sponsor: Liz Hausmann, Vice Chairman, Fulton County, Ga.
- 6. Proposed Resolution in Support for full funding of the Active Transportation Infrastructure Investment Program

Sponsor: Marion Greene, Commissioner, Hennepin County, Minn.; Jonathan Vlaming, National Association of County Park and Recreation Officials

7. Proposed Platform Change Supporting Equity in Capital Infrastructure Projects Sponsor: Eileen Higgins, Commissioner, Miami-Dade County, Fla.

3:55 PM: Closing Remarks

- Hon. Liz Hausmann, Chairman, NACo Transportation Committee; Commissioner, Fulton County, Ga.

4:00 PM: Meeting Concludes

NACo staff contact: Jessica Jennings, Legislative Director, jjennings@naco.org or 202.942.4264