

SUPPORT THE PROTECTING COMMUNITY TELEVISION ACT

ACTION NEEDED:

Urge your members of Congress to support and cosponsor the Support the Protecting Community Television Act (S.3361/H.R.6219). Introduced by Sens. Ed Markey (D-Mass.) and Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.) and Reps. Anna Eshoo (D-Calif.) and Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.) on December 9, 2021, the legislation would amend the Communications Act of 1934 to reverse the Federal Communication Commission's (FCC) 2019 order requiring that cable-related, in-kind contributions be subjected to the statutory five percent franchise fee cap.

BACKGROUND:

On August 1, 2019, the FCC adopted a ruling usurping local franchising authority. Under the FCC rule, cable related, in-kind contributions required by local franchising authorities are considered a "franchise fee."

Franchise fees are used by local governments to maintain public rights-of-ways used by cable companies. Local franchising authorities often require cable providers to offer in-kind contributions, such as public, educational and government (PEG) channels, as a condition to a franchise agreement. These in-kind contributions, including PEG channels, provide significant public benefits to communities, including transparency and accountability through access to local and regional government meetings; educational programming including for-credit courses; coverage of local events; local election coverage; candidate forums; and public safety programming.

By considering in-kind contributions a "franchise fee," the order requires the expense incurred by cable operators providing PEG channels be subject to a statutory five percent franchise fee cap established under the Communications Act of 1934. Subjecting in-kind contributions to the franchise fee cap could contribute to a reduction of 30 to 40 percent in franchise fees, resulting in a significant drop in resources for PEG channels.

CURRENTLY PERMITTED TO
REQUIRE, AS PART OF CABLE
FRANCHISE AGREEMENTS, THAT
CABLE PROVIDERS MEET
DEMONSTRATED COMMUNITY
NEEDS BY PROVIDING IN-KIND
CONTRIBUTIONS THAT BENEFIT
SCHOOLS, PUBLIC SAFETY
BUILDINGS, AND PUBLIC,
EDUCATIONAL, AND GOVERNMENT
(PEG) CHANNELS.

HOWEVER, IN AUGUST 2019, THE FCC VOTED TO PERMIT CABLE COMPANIES TO ASSIGN A VALUE TO THESE CONTRIBUTIONS AND THEN SUBTRACT THAT AMOUNT FROM THE FRANCHISE FEES THE CABLE OPERATOR PAYS THE LOCAL COMMUNITY.

SCAN THE QR CODE TO DOWNLOAD THE BRIEF





The rule, which went into effect on September 26, 2019, allows cable companies to deduct the fair market value of any services required by a franchise agreement. This could have a disproportionate impact on smaller communities, where the revenue generated from a cable TV channel is more valuable than that generated in a large urban area.

KEY TALKING POINTS:

- It is critical that we work to maintain our PEG operations, which provides critical information during the COVID-19 pandemic as well as helps the community engage in local matters for the public good.
- As providers of essential community services, counties are deeply invested in maintaining community resources which local non-profits and community members rely upon to communicate with the public.

COMMITTEES OF JURISDICTION

HOUSE ENERGY AND COMMERCE COMMITTEE

M	air	ritv

Chair. Frank Pallone (N.J.)

Vice Chair Robin Kelly (III.)

Rep. Nanette Barragán (Calif.)

Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester (Del.)

Rep. G.K. Butterfield (N.C.)

Rep. Kathy Castor (Fla.)

Rep. Yvette Clarke (N.Y.)

Rep. Angie Craig (Minn.)

Rep. Tony Cárdenas (Calif.)

Rep. Diana DeGette (Colo.)

Rep. Debbie Dingell (Mich.)

Rep. Mike Doyle (Pa.)

Rep. Anna Eshoo (Calif.)

Rep. Lizzie Fletcher (Texas)

Rep. Ann Kuster (N.H.)

Rep. Doris Matsui (Calif.)

Rep. Donald McEachin (Va.)

Rep. Jerry McNerney (Calif.)

Rep. Tom O'Halleran (Ariz.)

Rep. Scott Peters (Calif.)

Rep. Kathleen Rice (N.Y.)

Rep. Raul Ruiz (Calif.)

Rep. Bobby Rush (III.)

Rep. John Sarbanes (Md.)

Rep. Jan Schakowsky (III.)

Rep. Kurt Schrader (Ore.)

Rep. Kim Schrier (Wash.)

Rep. Darren Soto (Fla.)

Minority

Ranking Member Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Wash.)

Rep. Kelly Armstrong (N.D.)

Rep. Gus Bilirakis (Fla.)

Rep. Larry Bucshon (Ind.)

Rep. Michael Burgess (Texas)

Rep. Buddy Carter (Ga.)

Rep. Dan Crenshaw (Texas)

Rep. John Curtis (Utah)

Rep. Jeff Duncan (S.C.)

Rep. Neal Dunn (Fla.)

Rep. Morgan Griffith (Va.)

Rep. Brett Guthrie (Ky.)

Rep. Richard Hudson (N.C.)

Rep. Bill Johnson (Ohio)

Rep. John Joyce (Pa.)

Rep. Adam Kinzinger (III.)

Rep. Bob Latta (Ohio)

Rep. Debbie Lesko (Ariz.)

Rep. Billy Long (Mo.)

Rep. David McKinley (W.Va.)

Rep. Markwayne Mullin (Okla.)

Rep. Gary Palmer (Ala.)

Rep. Greg Pence (Ind.)

Rep. Steve Scalise (La.)

Rep. Fred Upton (Mich.)

Rep. Tim Walberg (Mich.)



Rep. Paul Tonko (N.Y.) Rep. Lori Trahan (Mass.) Rep. Marc Veasey (Texas) Rep. Peter Welch (Vt.)

SENATE COMMERCE COMMITTEE

Majority

Chair Maria Cantwell (Wash.) Sen. Tammy Baldwin (Wis.) Sen. Richard Blumenthal (Conn.) Sen. Tammy Duckworth (III.) Sen. John Hickenlooper (Colo.) Sen. Amy Klobuchar (Minn.) Sen. Ben Ray Luján (N.M.) Sen. Ed Markey (Mass.) Sen. Gary Peters (Mich.)

Sen. Jacky Rosen (Nev.) Sen. Brian Schatz (Hawaii) Sen. Kyrsten Sinema (Ariz.) Sen. Jon Tester (Mont.) Sen. Raphael Warnock (Ga.)

Minority

Ranking Member Roger Wicker (Miss.)

Sen. Marsha Blackburn (Tenn.)

Sen. Roy Blunt (Mo.)

Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (W.Va.)

Sen. Ted Cruz (Texas) Sen. Deb Fischer (Neb.) Sen. Ron Johnson (Wis.) Sen. Mike Lee (Utah)

Sen. Cynthia Lummis (Wyo.) Sen. Jerry Moran (Kan.)

Sen. Rick Scott (Fla.) Sen. Dan Sullivan (Alaska)

Sen. John Thune (S.D.) Sen. Todd Young (Ind.)

For further information, contact Seamus Dowdall at 202.942.4212 or sdowdall@naco.org.

