## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

April 13, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker U.S. House of Representatives United States Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Republican Leader U.S. House of Representatives United States Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader United States Senate S-230, U.S. Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Charles Schumer Democratic Leader United States Senate S-220, U.S. Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Speaker Pelosi, Leader McConnell, Leader McCarthy, and Leader Schumer:

As Congress continues to work on economic stimulus legislation in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, we ask that you restore parity between the private and public sector when it comes to eligibility for tax credits to mitigate the costs of emergency paid leave provisions included in the Families First Coronavirus Response Act.

State and local governments are on the front lines in responding to this epidemic and coping with its punitive impacts. We strongly support provisions that provide emergency paid leave for employees, and tax credits allowing employers to recoup these costs. However, subsection (e)(4) of Section 7001 and subsection (e)(4) of Section 7003 exempt public employers from these tax credits despite their employees being eligible for emergency paid leave. This amounts to an unfunded federal mandate for state and local governments and should be amended. We respectfully request that you include this fix in subsequent COVID-19 economic stimulus legislation. Without it, these severe costs will undermine the ability of state and local governments to provide the critical public services necessary in the nation's COVID-19 response.

We appreciate your leadership as Congress continues to respond to the economic fallout from this pandemic. Thank you for your attention to this request.

Eknede

Sincerely.

TICOY

Member of Congress

JOHN KATKO Member of Congress

BRADLEY S. SCHNEIDER

Member of Congress

Diana DeGette
Member of Congress

## **SIGNATORIES**

Eleanor Holmes Norton

Earl Blumenauer

Grace F. Napolitano

Jim Costa Eric Swalwell

Harley Rouda

Julia Brownley

Doris O. Matsui

Thomas R. Suozzi

Dwight Evans

Jahana Hayes

Ted W. Lieu

Adam Smith

Tony Cárdenas

Barbara Lee

Salud O. Carbajal

Chris Pappas

Rosa L. DeLauro

Michael F.Q. San Nicolas

Linda T. Sanchez

Derek Kilmer

Ron Kind

Josh Gottheimer

**Brian Higgins** 

John Garamendi

John B. Larson

Jimmy Panetta

Ami Bera, M.D.

Deb Haaland

Josh Harder

Jennifer Wexton

Sean Patrick Maloney

Ro Khanna

David N. Cicilline

Jackie Speier

Brian Fitzpatrick

Paul Cook

Ted S. Yoho, D.V.M.

Steve King

Jason Crow

Ann McLane Kuster

Mark Pocan

Katherine M. Clark

Gerald E. Connolly

Lois Frankel

Tom O'Halleran

Mikie Sherrill

Suzan K. DelBene

Danny K. Davis

Stephen F. Lynch

Suzanne Bonamici

Peter A. DeFazio

Charlie Crist

Jared Huffman

**Greg Stanton** 

Juan Vargas

Anna G. Eshoo

Judy Chu

Elissa Slotkin

Peter Welch Ben Ray Luján

Zoe Lofgren

Ilhan Omar

**Xochitl Torres Small** 

Betty McCollum

Karen Bass

Stephanie Murphy

Mike Doyle

Debbie Dingell