# **7015 POLICY BRIEF**



## MENTALLY ILL OFFENDER TREATMENT AND CRIME REDUCTION ACT

**ACTION NEEDED:** Urge your Members of Congress to support the Comprehensive Justice and Mental Health Act (S. 993) (H.R. 1854), which reauthorizes the Mentally III Offender Treatment and Crime Reduction Act (MIOTCRA) and builds upon its successes.

**BACKGROUND:** Enacted by Congress in 2004, MIOTCRA authorized a \$50 million grant program to be administered by the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ). The grants, which are available to state, tribal and local governments, may be used to develop and implement a variety of programs designed to improve outcomes for individuals with mental illness involved in the criminal justice system.

MIOTCRA also created the Justice and Mental Health Collaboration Program (JMHCP), which helps states and counties design and implement collaborative efforts between the nation's criminal justice and mental health systems. Collectively, state and local governments use these grants for a broad range of activities, including establishing jail diversion programs, mental health courts, creating or expanding community-based treatment programs, or providing in-jail treatment and transitional services. In addition, grant funds may be used to enhance training for criminal justice and mental health system personnel who must know how to respond appropriately to this population.

In 2008, Congress reauthorized the MIOTCRA program at \$50 million from 2008 to 2013. However, congressional appropriations have never fully funded the program, and only provided \$8.5 million for the program through the FY 2015 "CRomnibus" spending bill (PL. 113-235), which is set to expire on September 30, 2015.

The CJMHA was voted favorably out of the Senate Judiciary Committee by unanimous voice vote on April 30, 2015. The House Judiciary Committee has yet to take up this measure.

### **KEY TALKING POINTS:**

• The nation's local jails are increasingly becoming de facto housing for the mentally ill. Of the 11 million people entering county jails each year, it is estimated that 64 percent are displaying a pattern of symptoms that are indicative of behavioral health disorders. Most persons with behavioral health disorders that are incarcerated or detained in county jails have committed only minor infractions, which are more often the manifestation of their illness than the result of criminal intent.

# **QUICK FACTS**

- Currently, there are over two million people incarcerated in U.S. prisons or jails and over 11 million people are booked into U.S. jails over the course of the year
- It is estimated that 64 percent of people booked in local jails display a pattern of symptoms that are indicative of behavioral health disorder
- Per capita federal, state and local corrections spending has increased by over 400 percent since 1982
- Congress authorized a program to provide assistance to this population in 2004, called the Mentally III
  Offender Treatment and Crime Reduction Act (MIOTCRA), administered by the U.S. Department of Justice
  (DOJ) to develop and implement a variety of programs designed to improve outcomes for individuals with
  mental illness involved in the criminal justice system. MIOTCRA provides assistance to states and

- communities to create new programs or expand existing programs that can both reduce costs and help mentally ill offenders return to productive lives.
- During the 113<sup>th</sup> Congress, Rep. Doug Collins (R-Ga.), along with a bipartisan mix of nine original cosponsors, introduced the Justice and Mental Health Collaboration Act (H.R. 1854), which would have reauthorized MIOTCRA and its current program areas for an additional five years. Sen. Al Franken (D-Minn.) and a bipartisan group of 38 Senators introduced companion legislation in the Senate, the Comprehensive Justice and Mental Health Act (S. 993).
- The MIOTCRA program is currently being funded through the FY 2015 "CRomnibus" (PL. 113-235) which will expire on September 30, 2015.

For further information, contact: Paul Beddoe at 202.942.4234 or pbeddoe@naco.org

### **COMMITTEES OF JURISDICTION:**

House Committee on the Judiciary		Senate Judiciary Committee
Majority:		Majority:
Robert W. Goodlatte (R-VA), Chairman	Mike Bishop (R-MI)	Charles E. Grassley (R-IA), Chairman
Lamar Smith(R-TX)	Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI)	Orrin G. Hatch (R-UT)
Darrell Issa (R-CA)	Steve Chabot (R-OH)	Jeff Sessions (R-AL)
Steve King (R-IA)	Randy Forbes (R-VA)	Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
Louie Gohmert (R-TX)	Trent Franks (R-AZ)	John Cornyn (R-TX)
Ted Poe (R-TX)	Jim Jordan (R-OH)	Mike Lee (R-UT)
Tom Marino (R-PA)	Jason Chaffetz (R-UT)	Ted Cruz (R-TX) Jeff
Raul Labrador (R-ID)	Trey Gowdy (R-SC)	Flake (R-AZ) David
Doug Collins (R-GA)	Blake Farenthold (R-TX)	Vitter (R-LA) David
Mimi Walters (R-CA)	Ron DeSantis (R-FL)	Perdue (R-GA) Thom
John Ratcliffe(R-TX)	Ken Buck (R-CO)	Tillis (R-NC)
	David Trott (R-MI)	
Minority:		Minority:
John Conyers Jr. (D-MI), Ranking	Jerry Nadler (D-NY)	Patrick J. Leahy (D-VT), Ranking Member
Member	Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)	Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)	Hank Johnson (D-GA)	Charles E. Schumer (D-NY)
Steve Cohen (D-TN)	Judy Chu (D-CA)	Richard J. Durbin (D-IL)
Pedro Pierluisi (D-PR)	Luis Gutierrez (D-IL)	Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
Ted Deutch (D-FL)	Cedric L. Richmond (D-LA)	Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Karen Bass (D-CA)	Hakeem Jefferies (D-NY)	Al Franken (D-MN)
Suzan DelBene (D-WA)	Scott Peters (D-CA)	Chris Coons (D-DE)
David Cicilline (D-RI)		Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)

#### **U.S. House Appropriations Committee U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee** Majority: Majority: Harold Rogers (R-KY), Chairman Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE) Thad Cochran (R-MS), Chairman Mitch McConnell (R-KY) Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ) Tom Rooney (R-FL) Robert B. Aderholt (R-AL)\* Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN) Richard Shelby (R-AL)\* Kay Granger (R-TX) Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-Lamar Alexander (R-TN)\* WA)\* Michael Simpson (R-ID) Susan Collins (R-ME)\* John Abney Culberson, (R-TX)\* David Joyce (R-OH) Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)\* Ander Crenshaw, (R-FL) David Valadao (R-CA) Lindsey Graham (R-SC)\* John R. Carter (R-TX)\* Andy Harris (R-MD) Mark Kirk (R-IL)\* Ken Calvert (R-CA) Martha Roby (R-AL) Roy Blunt (R-MO) Tom Cole (R-OK) Mark Amodei (R-NV) Jerry Moran (R-KS) John Hoeven (R-ND) Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL) Chris Stewart (R-UT) Charles Dent (R-PA) Scott Rigell (R-VA) John Boozman (R-AR)\* Tom Graves (R-GA) David Jolly (R-FL)\* Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)\* Kevin Yoder (R-KS) David Young (R-IA) Bill Cassidy (R-LA) James Lankford (R-OK)\* Steve Womack (R-AR) Evan Jenkins (R-WV)\* Alan Nunnelee (R-MS) Steven Palazzo (R-MS) Steve Daines (R-MT) Minority: Minority: Nita Lowey (D-NY), Ranking Michael Honda (D-CA)\* Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Ranking Member Betty McCollum (D-MN) Member\* Patrick Leahy (D-VT)\* Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) Steve Israel (D-NY) Peter Visclosky (D-IN) Tim Ryan (D-OH) Patty Murray (D-WA) José Serrano (D-NY)\* C.A. Dutch Reppersberger (D-Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)\* Richard Durbin (D-IL) Rosa DeLauro (D-CT) David Price (D-NC) Debbie Wasserman Schultz Jack Reed (D-RI)\* Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA) (D-FL) Jon Tester (D-MT) Sam Farr (D-CA) Henry Cuellar (D-TX) Tom Udall (D-NM) Chaka Fattah (D-PA)\* Chellie Pingree (D-ME) Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)\* Jeff Merkley (D-OR) Sanford Bishop (D-GA) Mike Quigley (D-IL) Barbara Lee (D-CA) Derek Kilmer (D-WA)\* Chris Coons (D-DE)\* Brian Schatz (D-HI) Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)\* \*Members who serve on the Commerce, Christopher Murphy (D-CT)\* Justice, Science and Related Agencies Subcommittee