Transportation Steering Committee

Responsible for all matters pertaining to federal transportation legislation, funding and regulation and its impacts on county government. This includes highway and bridge development, finance and safety, public transit development and finance, transportation planning, airport development and service, passenger and freight railroads, ports and waterways, freight movement, and research and development of new modes of transportation.

Policy Briefs

Support County Priorities in Any New Federal Infrastructure Package


Urge your members of Congress to support county transportation and infrastructure priorities in any new infrastructure bill presented by Congress.


Counties play a critical role in the nation’s transportation system, owning 46 percent of all public roads (compared to the 32 percent of public roads owned by cities and townships, 19 percent by states, and 3 percent by the federal government) and 38 percent of the nation’s bridge inventory, and are involved with a third of the nation’s transit systems and airports that connect residents, communities and businesses.

In the 116th Congress, there is renewed interest on Capitol Hill to pass a bipartisan, comprehensive infrastructure package. The U.S. House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure intends to unveil an infrastructure policy measure as early as summer 2019. Chairman Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.) has outlined several priorities he plans to address in a final package, including sustainable funding for large-scale construction and maintenance projects, alternative revenue sources for highways and transit, harbors and airports, funding for freight corridors and an emphasis on infrastructure resilience to withstand severe weather.

PDF icon Surface Transportation Policy Brief.pdf

FAA Reauthorization


Advocate for the passage of a Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) reauthorization bill that supports airport development and continues air service to large and small communities.


Counties play a critical role in the nation’s transportation systems, including the nation’s air transportation system. Counties own 34 percent of the nation’s publicly-owned airports and spend $5.14 billion annually on air transportation, which supports nearly 11,500 employees across the country.

In February of 2012, Congress passed a four-year reauthorization of Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) programs known as the FAA Modernization and Reform Act of 2012 (P.L. 112-095). The bill was the first long-term authorization of federal civil aviation programs since 2007 and was finally enacted after 23 short-term extensions. The current extension is set to expire September 30, 2018. Congress must either extend or reauthorize the FAA by September 30 to avert a shutdown of agency operations.

The FAA reauthorization process allows Congress to address many aspects of FAA policy and funding, including a number of programs that benefit counties.  Programs of importance to counties include:

PDF icon 2018 FAA Reauthorization_Update.pdf

Latest Resources

Join a steering committee and make a difference. Learn more about getting involved in NACo's Transportation Steering Committee:

Transportation Steering Committee


Randy Maluchnik
Carver County, Minnesota


Vice Chair

Walter Beyer
Chief Engineer and Operations Officer
Elmore County, Alabama


Cindy Bobbitt
Grant County, Oklahoma


Gary Fickes
Tarrant County, Texas


Scott Haggerty
Alameda County, California


James Healy
Board Member
DuPage County, Illinois


Bill Holen
Arapahoe County, Colorado


Jack Mariano
Pasco County, Florida


Paul Savas
Clackamas County, Oregon


Subcommittee Chair

William Altimus (Transit/Rail)
Parish Administrator
Bossier Parish, Louisiana


Patrick Farrell (Ports)
Chatham County, Georgia


Liz Hausmann (Airports)
Fulton County, Georgia


Matthew Prochaska (Highway/Highway Safety)
County Board Member
Kendall County, Illinois


Subcommittee Vice Chair

Ron Burrows (Ports)
Rogers County, Oklahoma


Nancy Detert (Airports)
Sarasota County, Florida


Daniel Fedderly (Highway/Highway Safety)
Executive Director
Wisconsin County Highway Association, Wisconsin


Sharon Green Middleton (Ports)
Council Vice-President
Baltimore City, Maryland


Michael Logsdon (Airports)
Oldham County, Kentucky


Bob Lucey (Transit/Rail)
Commission Chair
Washoe County, Nevada


Stanley Moore (Transit/Rail)
Cook County, Illinois


Richard Sanders (Highway/Highway Safety)
County Engineer
Polk County, Minnesota


Alton Shepherd (Highway/Highway Safety)
Apache County, Arizona


Vance Stuehrenberg (Airports)
Blue Earth County, Minnesota


Robert Weinroth (Transit/Rail)
Commissioner, District 4
Palm Beach County, Florida



  • Associate Legislative Director – Transportation and Infrastructure  
    (202) 942-4264