EDA/Coal-Reliant Communities Innovation Challenge Workshop

Nov. 18, 2015 – Nov. 20, 2015
Charleston Marriott
Charleston, WV

Eight teams have been selected for the final round of the Innovation Challenge for Coal-Reliant Communities program.  The selected teams—led by counties and regional development organizations and including a broad range of other public- and private-sector partners—competed for the opportunity to participate in this program, which offers resources to support places impacted by downturns in the coal industry.  The Innovation Challenge program assists county and regional leaders with retooling local economies to be more resilient to changing. conditions

Selected Teams

The winning teams are led by:

Team Lead: Southeast Michigan Council of Governments
Representing Monroe County and Wayne County

Team Lead: West Michigan Shoreline Regional Development Commission
Representing Muskegon County

Team Lead: Northwest New Mexico Council of Governments
Representing Cibola, McKinley and San Juan counties

Team Lead: Armstrong County, Pa.

Team Lead: New River Valley Regional Commission
Representing Giles County, Va.

Team Lead: New River Gorge Regional Development Authority
Representing Fayette, Nicholas, Raleigh and Summers counties, W.Va.

Team Lead: Kanawha County, W.Va.

Team Lead: Mason County, W.Va.

Geographies Represented

Upcoming Events

See all events