EDA /Coal-Reliant Communities Innovation Challenge Workshop

Sep. 17, 2015 – Sep. 19, 2015
Grand Vista Hotel
Grand Junction, CO

The second Innovation Challenge workshop will be held in Grand Junction, Colo., from September 17-19, 2015. The teams selected to participate in the workshop competed earlier this year to win spots at the event.  Each team is led by counties and regional development organizations and includes a broad range of other public and private sector partners.

Below, read more about the teams that were selected.

More information about the Innovation Challenge for Coal-Reliant Communities can be found by visiting:

Selected Teams

Team Lead: Moffat County, Colo.

This team includes representatives from Moffat County; the City of Craig; Craig/Moffat County Economic Development Partnership; Craig Chamber of Commerce; and Moffat County Tourism Association.​​​​​

Team Lead: Region 10 Economic Assistance and Planning, Inc.

​Representing Delta County and Montrose County, Colo.

This team includes representatives Delta County; the City of Delta; West End Economic Development Organization; and Telluride Foundation for West End Montrose County.

​​Team Lead: Rio Blanco County, Colo.

​This team includes representatives from Rio Blanco County; the Town of Rangely; Rangely Chamber of Commerce; Colorado Northwestern Community College; and Rangely Auto Parts.

​Team Lead: Routt County, Colo.

​This team includes representatives from Routt County and the Steamboat Springs Economic Development Council.

Team Lead: Sherburne County, Minn.

​​This team includes representatives from Sherburne County; Xcel Energy; Initiative Foundation; Greater St. Cloud Development Corporation; and the City of Becker​​​​​.

Team Lead: Snowy Mountain Development Corporation

Representing Musselshell County, Mont.

This team includes representatives from Musselshell County; the City of Roundup; Coila Evans Art & Gift Gallery; and ABT Companies.

Team Lead: Carbon County and Emery County, Utah  

This team includes representatives from Carbon County; Emery County; Utah State University’s Darbon Energy Innovation Center; and the Southeastern Utah Economic Development District.

Team Lead: Six County Association of Governments

​Representing Utah Counties of Juab, Kane, Millard and Sevier

This team includes representatives from Sevier County; Kane County; Juab County; Millard County; and Snow College.

Geographies Represented