Arts and Culture Commission

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The NACo Arts and Culture Commission demonstrates how the arts can be used by county officials to promote ​​economic development and provide solutions to many of the challenges that they face, through workshop sessions, field trips and special publications.

Participants march in the Hillsborough Handmade Parade in Orange County, N.C. Credit: Donn Young for Orange County, N.C.


Learn More

The Creative Counties Placemaking Challenge invites counties with populations of less than 150,000 to form multidisciplinary teams to compete in a challenge competition to identify and strengthen ways to integrate arts into solutions to local challenges. 

Learn More


Renee Price Commissioner Orange County, North Carolina

Vice Chair

Emily Bonilla Commissioner Orange County, Florida
Timothy Boyd Commissioner Hamilton County, Tennessee
Katie Cashion Commissioner Guilford County, North Carolina
Robert Cole Commissioner Santa Rosa County, Florida
Debra Lucero Supervisor Butte County, California
Larry Nelson Supervisor Waukesha County, Wisconsin
Stan Ponstein Commissioner Kent County, Michigan
Greg Puckett Commissioner Mercer County, West Virginia


William Altimus Parish Administrator Bossier Parish, Louisiana
Marvin Arrington Commissioner Fulton County, Georgia
Kate Becker Collector of Revenue Audrain County, Missouri
Scott Belt Supervisor Pottawattamie County, Iowa
Mary Lou Berger Commissioner Palm Beach County, Florida
Marilyn Brown Commissioner Franklin County, Ohio
Shanita Bryant Commissioner Peach County, Georgia
Terry Buchanan Chief Information Officer Robeson County, North Carolina
Cindy Bulloch County Assessor Iron County, Utah
Toni Carter Commissioner, Board Chair Ramsey County, Minnesota
Lynn Cawthorne Commissioner Caddo Parish, Louisiana
Tarryl Clark Commissioner Stearns County, Minnesota
Mimi Cowan Board Member Will County, Illinois
Nancy Detert Commissioner Sarasota County, Florida
Jay Dick , D.C.
Jim Doherty Commissioner Morrow County, Oregon
Jimmie Edwards Council Member St. Landry Parish, Louisiana
Lenny Eliason Commissioner Athens County, Ohio
Phyllis Errico General Counsel Virginia Association of Counties, Virginia
Mckenzie Farrell Operations Director Association of Oregon Counties, Oregon
Nicole Frethem Commissioner Ramsey County
Evelyn Gill Commissioner Knox County, Tennessee
Sonna Gregory Commissioner Clayton County, Georgia
Tony Guillory Police Juror Calcasieu Parish, Louisiana
Anna Hansen Commissioner Santa Fe County, New Mexico
Mike Harper Police Juror Beauregard Parish, Louisiana
Liz Hausmann Commissioner Fulton County, Georgia
Paul Heimel Commissioner Potter County, Pennsylvania
Kade Holliday County Clerk Craighead County, Arkansas
Melvyn Houser County Auditor Pottawattamie County, Iowa
Doris Karloff Supervisor Saunders County, Nebraska
Betsy Keller County Chief Administrator El Paso County, Texas
Timmy Lejeune Council Member St. Landry Parish, Louisiana
Deborah Lieberman Commissioner Montgomery County, Ohio
Natalia Macker Commissioner Teton County, Wyoming
Warren Mackey Commissioner Hamilton County, Tennessee
Daniel Mahoney Commissioner Jackson County, Michigan
Ann Mallek Supervisor Albemarle County, Virginia
Randy Maluchnik Commissioner Carver County, Minnesota
Allison Mays Board Member Washington County, Virginia
Mary McGann Council Member Grand County, Utah
Maureen McGuigan Deputy Director of Arts and Culture Lackawanna County, Pennsylvania
Mary Jo McGuire Commissioner Ramsey County, Minnesota
Shawn Milne Commissioner Tooele County, Utah
Denise Nieman County Attorney Palm Beach County, Florida
John O'Grady Commissioner Franklin County, Ohio
Toni Pappas Commissioner Hillsborough County, New Hampshire
Jerry Red Council Member St. Landry Parish, Louisiana
Penny Rich Commissioner - Chair Orange County, North Carolina
Christopher Rodgers Commissioner Douglas County, Nebraska
Julie Rogers Commissioner, Chair Kalamazoo County, Michigan
Tiffany Stewart-Stanley Director of External Affairs Douglas County, Georgia
David Strohmaier Commissioner Missoula County, Montana
Vance Stuehrenberg Commissioner Blue Earth County, Minnesota
Shelley Taub Commissioner Oakland County, Michigan
Margaret Tyson Board Member Will County
Matthew Veitch Supervisor Saratoga County, New York
Ernestina Wenger Councilwoman at-Large Elkhart County, Indiana
Devon West Legislative Policy Advisor Broward County, Florida
Stephanie Wright Council Member Snohomish County, Washington