NACo Members on the National City-County Task Force on the Opiod Epidemic

Error message

In order to filter by the "in queue" property, you need to add the Entityqueue: Queue relationship.

The National Association of Counties (NACo) and the National League of Cities (NLC) recently announced the members of a new joint national task force to address our nation’s opioid and heroin abuse crisis. The National City-County Task Force on the Opioid Epidemic is comprised of city and county leaders from across the country who will aim to enhance awareness, facilitate peer exchanges and identify sound policy and partnership solutions. Click here to learn more about the task force.

NACo members on the City-County Task Force Addressing Heroin and Opioid Abuse include:

Judge Gary Moore

Boone County, Kentucky | Task Force Co-Chair

Gary W. Moore was first elected Judge/Executive – the highest elected county office in the state of Kentucky – for Boone County in 1998. His county is the fourth largest and one of the fastest growing counties in the state. In his tenure as Boone County’s chief executive officer, Judge Moore has placed a strong focus on promoting public safety through the formation of local partnerships, most notably overseeing a merger between the county’s sheriff and police departments and the creation of a public safety campus that includes a jail, law enforcement offices and a fire training center. Judge Moore has also overseen extensive infrastructure improvements in Boone County that have made commutes more convenient for residents while spurring economic development and growth.

Commissioner Matthew Bell

Weber County, Utah

Matthew G. Bell was sworn into office as a Weber County Commissioner in 2013 and currently serves as vice-chair of NACo’s Justice and Public Safety Policy Committee. Commissioner Bell has served Weber County for over 30 years, beginning with a role as a member of the county’s Sheriffs’ Jeep Patrol and including years of experience as a Lieutenant with the Weber County Sheriffs’ Office. Commissioner Bell also has years of experience in the private sector as a former business owner.

Commissioner Doug Corcoran

Ross County, Ohio

Doug Corcoran has served on the Ross County Board of Commissioners since 2005 and currently also serves as the president of the County Commissioners’ Association of Ohio. He was born and raised in Ross County. Growing up on a family farm as one of 16 siblings, Commissioner Corcoran worked on the farm and in other private sector positions through 2004, when he began his public service career as Economic Development Director for the City of Chillicothe. 

County Executive Kathy Dahlkemper

Erie County, Pennsylvania

Kathy Dahlkemper took office as the Erie County Executive on January 7th, 2014. Previously, she served from 2009-2011 in the U.S. House of Representatives, representing the 3rd Congressional District of Pennsylvania; she was the first woman elected to hold this position. During her tenure in Congress, she served on the Agriculture Committee, Science & Technology Committee and the Small Business Committee, and authored legislation that allows young adults to remain on their parents’ health insurance up until the age of 26 under the Affordable Care Act (ACA)

Commissioner Vidya Kora

LaPorte County, Indiana

Dr. Vidya Kora has served as LaPorte County Commissioner since 2013 and also practices internal medicine in Michigan City, Indiana. Previously, he served as the Chairman of the Department of Medicine at the Memorial Hospital of Michigan City. Dr. Kora currently serves on the Northern Indiana Regional Board of the Franciscan Alliance, the Board of Unity Foundation of LaPorte County and as a Delegate from Indiana to the American Medical Association.

County Council Member Waymon Mumford

Florence County, South Carolina

Dr. Waymon Mumford was elected to the Florence County Council in 1994 after years of service as Chief of Police for the City of Florence. Reverend Mumford is also an ordained minister and serves as the Pastor of the Central Baptist Church in Florence. He is Vice Moderator for the Pee Dee Baptist Association, Vice Moderator for the Florence and Affiliated Counties Baptist Educational and Missionary Union and member of the Trustee Board for Morris College.

Supervisor Leticia Perez

Kern County, California

Leticia Perez has served the people of Kern County since 2006, when she began her public service as an attorney in the county public defender’s office. She has also served as the chair of the Kern County Planning Commission, in addition to her current position on the county’s Board of Supervisors. Supervisor Perez also has extensive private sector experience, working as a community banker at Wells Fargo and as a representive of the Wells Fargo Foundation.

County Executive Mark Poloncarz

Erie County, New York

Mark Poloncarz was sworn in as Erie County Executive in 2012. In this role, he opened the Erie County Health Mall, a collaboration of various health partners to provide essential medical, dental, behavioral health and education services to under-served county residents. Executive Poloncarz has also released “Initiatives for a Stronger Community,” his health and human services plan for Erie County, and “Initiatives for a Smart Economy,” which represents his administration’s approach to a comprehensive, innovative approach to economic development.

Commissioner Greg Puckett

Mercer County, West Virginia

Greg Puckett has served as Mercer County Commissioner since 2014. He is also the Executive Director of Community Connections Inc., a West Virginia-based private, non-profit corporation dedicated to improving the lives of children and families on a local, regional and statewide level. In this capacity, he serves on several state committees, including the Governor’s Committee on Crime, Delinquency and Correction and the West Virginia Endangered Children Task Force. Commissioner Puckett has also served as the Director for the Mercer County Drug Free Community Support Program.

County Executive Steve Schuh

Anne Arundel County, Maryland

Steve Schuh has served as Anne Arundel County Executive since 2014. Previously, he served two terms in the Maryland General Assembly, representing Maryland’s District 31. During this time he served on the Economic Matters Committee and was chosen by his colleagues to serve as Chairman of the Anne Arundel County Delegation to the House of Delegates. County Executive Schuh has served on the boards of United Way of Central Maryland and the American Red Cross of the Chesapeake Region.

Commissioner Judy Shiprack

Multnomah County, Oregon

Judy Shiprack has served as Multnomah County Commissioner since 2008. Previously, she served as a prosecutor in the county attorney’s office. In 1986, she was elected to the state legislature, where she chaired the House Housing and Urban Development Committee and the House Judiciary Subcommittee on Civil Law and Judicial Administration. Commissioner Shiprack has also served as a legislative trustree for Citizens for a Drug Free Oregon and currently chairs the Juvenile Justice Subcommittee of NACo’s Justice and Public Safety Policy Committee.

Commissioner Sallie Clark

El Paso County, Colorado | Ex-Officio

Sallie Clark has served as El Paso County Commissioner since 2004 and was elected by her peers to serve as NACo’s president for 2015-2016. Once elected to this position, she launched the Safe and Secure Counties Initiative, which is designed to enhance counties' capacity to protect public safety, support public health and human services and promote local economies. Commissioner Clark is a longtime member and vice chair of NACo’s Justice and Public Safety Policy Committee and has also served on NACo’s Veterans and Military Services Committee.

Related Posts

Related Resources

More From