Health Steering Committee

All matters pertaining to public health and healthy communities, including disease and injury prevention and health promotion, health disparities reduction, financing delivering health care, including services for the uninsured, underinsured, and medically indigent, Medicaid, Medicare, long-term care, behavioral health services, substance abuse prevention and treatment, and services for persons with developmental disabilities.

Latest Resources

  • Reports & Toolkits | Jun. 19, 2020

    This brief provides an overview of the COVID-19 Crisis in Nursing Homes, and highlights federal guidance released to date that helps nursing homes and skilled nursing facilities mitigate the spread of COVID-19. It also contains data on cases in nursing homes, an overview of relevant federal legislation, and a best practice example. 

  • Reports & Toolkits | May. 6, 2020

    NACo's legislative brief highlights the county role in COVID-19 pandemic response, mitigation and recovery and outlines key county federal policy priorities.

  • Reports & Toolkits | Apr. 13, 2020

    America’s counties are on the front lines of our nation’s response to the coronavirus pandemic.

Join a steering committee and make a difference. Learn more about getting involved in NACo's Health Steering Committee:

Health Steering Committee


Phillip Serna
Sacramento County, California


Vice Chair

Christopher Constance
Charlotte County, Florida


Clay Jenkins
County Judge
Dallas County, Texas


Nick Macchione
Health & Human Services Agency, Director
San Diego County, California


Valerie Poindexter
Council Member
Hawaii County, Hawaii


Toni Preckwinkle
Board President
Cook County, Illinois


Gloria Whisenhunt
Forsyth County, North Carolina


Subcommittee Chair

Kenneth Dahlstedt (Public Health and Healthy Communities)
Skagit County, Washington


Helen Stone (Behavioral Health)
Chatham County, Georgia


Derek Young (Medicaid and Indigent Care)
Pierce County, Washington


Shirlee Zane (Long Term Care)
Sonoma County, California


Subcommittee Vice Chair

Lynn Canfield (Behavioral Health)
Executive Director, Mental Health Board/DD Board
Champaign County, Illinois


Christopher Coudriet (Medicaid and Indigent Care)
County Manager
New Hanover County, North Carolina


Dena Diorio (Behavioral Health)
County Manager
Mecklenburg County, North Carolina


James Golgart (Behavioral Health)
Director Veterans Services
Le Sueur County, Minnesota


Greg Hart (Medicaid and Indigent Care)
Board Member
DuPage County, Illinois


Patricia Jurjevich (Behavioral Health)
Regional Administrator
Douglas County, Nebraska


Carol Moehrle (Long Term Care)
Public Health Director - Idaho North Central District
Nez Perce County, Idaho


Dotti Owens (Public Health and Healthy Communities)
Ada County, Idaho


Chester Pintarelli (Long Term Care)
Administrator, Medical Care
Iron County, Michigan


Adi Pour (Public Health and Healthy Communities)
Health Director
Douglas County, Nebraska


Julie Rogers (Medicaid and Indigent Care)
Commissioner, Chair
Kalamazoo County, Michigan


Barbara Sharief (Long Term Care)
Broward County, Florida


Kenneth Wilson (Public Health and Healthy Communities)
County Administrator
Franklin County, Ohio


More From