Environment, Energy & Land Use Steering Committee

Responsible for all matters pertaining to air, water, energy, and land use, including water resources/management, stormwater, pesticides, air quality standards, solid, hazardous, and nuclear waste handling, transport, and disposal, national energy policy, renewable/alternative energy, alternative fuel vehicles, energy facility siting, electricity utility restructuring, pipeline safety, oil spills, superfund/brownfields, eminent domain, land use, coastal management, oceans, parks and recreation.

Policy Briefs

Latest Resources

  • Video | Apr. 15, 2019

    This week's video includes an update on the proposed Waters of the U.S. rule, efforts to repeal the 40% excise tax on high cost employer health plans set to take effect in 2022, testimony in support of the Economic Development Administration and more.

  • Video | Apr. 1, 2019

    This week's video includes the latest on the annual appropriations process, "Dear Colleague" letters in support of the Payments in Lieu of Taxes program, the Community Development Block Grant and the HOME Investments Partnerships Program, the National Flood Insurance Program, new rules on overtime pay and more.

  • Video | Mar. 18, 2019

    This week's video includes the president’s Fiscal Year 2020 budget request, the submission deadline for comments on the new Waters of the U.S. rule on April 15 and more.

Join a steering committee and make a difference. Learn more about getting involved in NACo's Environment, Energy & Land Use Steering Committee:

Environment, Energy and Land Use Steering Committee


Kitty Barnes
Catawba County, North Carolina


Vice Chair

Melissa Cribbins
Coos County, Oregon


Penelope Gross
Fairfax County, Virginia


Ronald Peters
Tulsa County, Oklahoma


Victoria Reinhardt
Ramsey County, Minnesota


Subcommittee Chair

Kathie Gannon
DeKalb County, Georgia


Sig Hutchinson
Wake County, North Carolina


Stan Ponstein
Kent County, Michigan


Dennis Scott
Police Juror
Calcasieu Parish, Louisiana


Carl Zalak
Marion County, Florida


Subcommittee Vice Chair

Michael Covert
Beaufort County, South Carolina


Bryan Desloge
Leon County, Florida


Rodney Ellis
Harris County, Texas


Mike Harper
Police Juror
Beauregard Parish, Louisiana


Doug Martens
Rosebud County, Montana


Mary Jo McGuire
Ramsey County, Minnesota


Herbert (Tim) Richards
Council Member
Hawaii County, Hawaii


Rick Rudometkin
County Manager
Eddy County, New Mexico


Gregory Todd
Duchesne County, Utah


Kenton Ward
Hamilton County, Indiana



  • Associate Legislative Director – Environment, Energy & Land Use  
    (202) 942-4269

More From

  • 2019 WIR Conference

    The NACo Western Interstate Region (WIR) Conference brings together county officials from across the nation to focus on pressing issues facing counties and our residents. Each year the conference provides attendees with the opportunity to interact with federal, state and regional policymakers, participate in educational sessions and take home tools to address challenges. All conference activities (with the exception of off-site evening receptions and mobile tours) are taking place at The Davenport Grand Hotel.

    Learn More