Agriculture & Rural Affairs Steering Committee

Responsible for all matters pertaining to USDA agriculture, rural development programs, rural renewable energy development, research and extension, food safety, and conservation programs. 

Policy Briefs

  • Policy Brief

    Maintain Funding for USDA Rural Development Programs

    Urge your Members of Congress to support U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Rural Development programs throughout the FY 2020 appropriations process by meeting or exceeding FY 2019 funding levels. USDA Rural Development programs provide critical investments to key rural county priorities.
  • Policy Brief

    Support Key County Priorities as Congress Implements the 2018 Farm Bill

    Urge your members of congress to support county priorities throughout the development of the next farm bill. Programs throughout the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) help counties make critical investments in infrastructure, workforce and economic development, nutrition and conservation for some of our nation’s most underserved communities. Preserving these programs is vital to the strength and stability of our local and national economy. 

Latest Resources

  • Advocacy | Jan. 2, 2019

    NACo works to preserve local decision making, to protect counties from unfunded mandates and local preemption and to strengthen the federal-state-local partnership.

  • Press Release | Dec. 13, 2018

    Key county victories achieved in rural development, nutrition, conservation

  • Document | Sep. 20, 2018

    As the governing authority over the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the farm bill is critical for counties who are responsible for delivering and administering vital services to many of our nation’s vulnerable families.

Join a steering committee and make a difference. Learn more about getting involved in NACo's Agriculture & Rural Affairs Steering Committee:

Agriculture and Rural Affairs Steering Committee


Melissa McKinlay
Palm Beach County, Florida


Vice Chair

Bob Fox
Renville County, Minnesota


Craig Pedersen
Kings County, California


Luis Sanchez
Midland County, Texas


Albert Turner
Perry County, Alabama


Subcommittee Chair

Harrison Moody
Dinwiddie County, Virginia


Larry White

, Alabama


Subcommittee Vice Chair

Lawrence Harvey
Putnam County, Florida


Kade Holliday
County Clerk
Craighead County, Arkansas


Melvyn Houser
County Supervisor
Pottawattamie County, Iowa


Unzell Kelley
Coosa County, Alabama


James Schmidt
Lincoln County, South Dakota



  • Associate Legislative Director – Political Outreach Manager  
    (202) 942-4230

Upcoming Committee Events

See all events

More From

  • TestIT: How Fast is Your Broadband

    NACo has partnered with the Local Initiatives Support Corporation (LISC) and the Rural Community Assistance Partnership (RCAP) to develop a mobile app designed to identify areas with low or no connectivity to help ensure adequate funding for broadband infrastructure is provided across the country.

    Learn More