2018 POLICY BRIEF

SUPPORT THE STATE AND LOCAL CYBER PROTECTION ACT OF 2017

QUICK FACTS

As Congress considers legislation to protect local governments' digital infrastructure, NACo supports the following measures:

- Funding assistance to provide for the information technology resources required to provide security at all levels
- Funding assistance for basic security awareness training of employees and advanced security training for information technology professionals within local government
- Cooperative efforts in information sharing among all federal, state and local governments
- Creation of programs and initiatives that designate local government cybersecurity liaisons and/or representatives that serve in conjunction with federal agencies

ACTION NEEDED:

Urge your members of Congress to cosponsor the State and Local Cyber Protection Act of 2017 (S. 412), which would direct the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to extend services offered by the National Cybersecurity and Communications Integration Center to state and local governments.

BACKGROUND:

As county governments across the nation work to deploy modern technology to provide a host of new services in our communities, the need for ensuring the safety of our digital infrastructure is greater than ever before. Since each of the nation's 3,069 counties have varied resources and face different challenges, it is imperative that county governments have access to experts that can share up-to-date techniques in preventing, mitigating and responding to cyber-attacks.

The State and Local Cyber Protection Act of 2017 (S. 412) would require DHS to extend the services of their National Cybersecurity and Communications Integration Center (NCCIC) to state and local governments upon request. NCCIC's mission is to reduce the likelihood and severity of incidents compromising the security and resilience of the nation's critical information technology and communications networks.

During the 114th Congress (2015-2016), Rep. Will Hurd (R-Texas) introduced the State and Local Cyber Protection Act of 2016 (H.R. 3869), which was passed by the U.S. House of Representatives. The Senate version of the bill (S. 412) was reintroduced in 2017 by Sen. Gary Peters (D-Mich.).

KEY TALKING POINTS:

- Our nation continues to face the rising threat of cyber-attacks and data breaches.
 It is important that state and local governments have adequate resources to ensure the protection of their residents' private and sensitive information.
- NCCIC is an around-the-clock cyber situational awareness, incident response and management center that is a national nexus of cyber and communication integration for the federal government, intelligence community and law enforcement.
- NCCIC would be an asset in helping counties identify information system vulnerabilities; identify information security protections; learn best practices related to information security; and gain access to technical cybersecurity training. As



such, it is important that Congress passes the State and Local Cyber Protection Act of 2017.

For further information, contact: Jacob Terrell at 202.942.4236 or jterrell@naco.org.



COMMITTEES OF JURISDICTION

U.S. House Committee on Homeland Security

MAJORITY:

Michael McCaul (R-Texas), Chairman

Lamar Smith(R-Texas) Peter King (R-N.Y.) Mike Rogers (R-Ala.) Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.) Tom Marino (R-Pa.) Lou Barletta (R-Pa.) Scott Perry (R-Pa.) John Katko (R-N.Y.) Will Hurd (R-Texas) Martha McSally (R-Ariz.) John Ratcliffe (R-Texas) Dan Donovan (R-N.Y.) Mike Gallagher (R-Wis.) Clay Higgins (R-La.) John Rutherford (R-Fla.) Thomas Garrett, Jr. (R-Va.) Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.)

Ron Estes (R-Kan.)

Don Bacon (R-Neb.)

MINORITY:

Bennie Thompson (D-Miss.), Ranking Member

Sheila Jackson Lee (D-Texas)
James Langevin (D-R.I.)
Cedric Richmond (D-La.)
William Keating (D-Mass.)
Donald Payne (D-N.J.)
Filemon Vela (D-Texas)
Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-N.J.)
Kathleen Rice (D-N.Y.)
Luis Correa (D-Calif.)
Val Demings (D-Fla.)
Nanette Diaz Barragán (D-Calif.)

U.S. Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs

MAJORITY:

Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Chairman

John McCain (R-Ariz.)
Rob Portman (R-Ohio)
Rand Paul (R-Ky.)
James Lankford (R-Okla.)
Michael Enzi (R-Wyo.)
John Hoeven (R-N.D.)
Steve Daines (R-Mont.)

MINORITY:

Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), Ranking Member

Thomas Carper (D-Del.)
Jon Tester (D-Mont.)
Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.)
Gary Peters (D-Mich.)
Margaret Hassan (D-N.H.)
Kamala Harris (D-Calif.)
Doug Jones (D-Ala.)

