National Association of Counties
Washington, D.C.

 NACo sets elections town hall meeting for Sept. 26

In the aftermath of one of the most contentious and highly competitive elections for NACo second vice president in several years, NACo President Linda Langston has formed an Election Review Committee, to be chaired by Lenny Eliason, former NACo president and commissioner, Athens County, Ohio.

BulletClick here to register for the Sept. 26 webinar.

The committee’s first major undertaking will be to host a town hall webinar for all NACo members on how the association can improve the election process. The webinar is scheduled for Sept. 26 at 2 p.m. EDT. Final recommendations will be made to the NACo Board of Directors at their fall meeting.

Langston, who announced the committee’s membership Aug. 19, said she formed the committee to review the elections process for those things that could be improved and updated.  “As with any innovative and progressive organization you must review all your processes and seek to improve them,” she said.

In addition to Eliason, committee members include Commissioner Cindy Bobbitt, Grant County, Okla.; Commissioner Joan Garner, Fulton County, Ga.; Doug Hill, executive director, County Commissioners Association of Pennsylvania; Presiding Commissioner Ron Houseman, Taney County, Mo.; Todd McGee, public relations director, North Carolina Association of County Commissioners; and Chairman Manny Ruiz, Santa Cruz County, N.M.