Human Services and Education Steering Committee

All matters pertaining to children’s issues, foster care,  public assistance and income support, services to senior citizens and individuals with disabilities, immigration policy, social services, and elementary, secondary and post-secondary education.

Learn More


Nancy Sharpe Commissioner Arapahoe County, Colorado

Vice Chair

Toni Carter Commissioner Ramsey County, Minnesota
Shelley Goodman Taub Commission Chair Oakland County, Michigan
George Hartwick Commissioner Dauphin County, Pennsylvania
Paula Prentice Council Member Summit County, Ohio

Subcommittee Chair

William Cox Commissioner Rich County, Utah (Aging)
James Ebert Commissioner Weber County, Utah (Social Services)
Viola Harris Commissioner Edgecombe County, North Carolina (Education, Children & Families)

Subcommittee Vice Chair

Theresa Daniel Commissioner Dallas County, Texas (Education, Children & Families)
Brenda Holt Commissioner Gadsden County, Florida (Education, Children & Families)
Deborah Lieberman Commissioner Montgomery County, Ohio (Aging)
George Murdock Commissioner Umatilla County, Oregon (Aging)
J. Glenn Osborne Social Services Director Wilson County, North Carolina (Education, Children & Families)
Dotti Owens Coroner Ada County, Idaho (Education, Children & Families)
Sequanna Taylor Supervisor Milwaukee County, Wisconsin (Social Services)
Anthony Trotman Assistant County Manager Mecklenburg County, North Carolina (Social Services)
Claudia Tuck Director of Community Support Services Alachua County, Florida (Social Services)
Shirlee Zane Supervisor Sonoma County, California (Aging)


Tammy Baney Commissioner Deschutes County, Oregon
Ernestine Bazemore Commissioner Bertie County, North Carolina
Rebecca Benally Commissioner San Juan County, Utah
Sarah Benatar Treasurer Coconino County, Arizona
Sarah Berndt Henry County Coordinator of Disability Services and General Assistance Director Henry County, Iowa
Joy Bivens Director, Dept. of Job and Family Services Franklin County, Ohio
Benjamin Boykin County Legislator Westchester County, New York
Katie Boyle Director of Government Affairs Virginia Association of Counties
Nancy Carriere Council Member St. Landry Parish, Louisiana
William Cavin Commissioner Chaves County, New Mexico
Karen Crompton Director of Human Services Salt Lake County, Utah
Rochelle Culver Commissioner Wheeler County, Georgia
Brenda Ebron-Bonner Supervisor Dinwiddie County, Virginia
Cattie Epps Commissioner Russell County, Alabama
Sonya Fischer Commissioner Clackamas County, Oregon
D. Felicity Fitzpatrick Chief Deputy Surveyor Indianapolis and Marion County , Indiana
Traci Fletcher Councilwoman St. Charles Parish, Louisiana
Donald Hart Supervisor Accomack County, Virginia
Catherine Hudgins Supervisor Fairfax County, Virginia
Ernel Jones Police Juror DeSoto Parish, Louisiana
Doris Karloff Supervisor Saunders County, Nebraska
Sheila Kiscaden Commissioner Olmsted County, Minnesota
Jeanne Kohl-Welles Councilmember King County, Washington
Bette Jane Kowalski Freeholder Union County, New Jersey
Julie Krow Human Services Executive Director El Paso County, Colorado
Josh Lang Commissioner, Chair Bedford County, Pennsylvania
Larry Lautenschlager Supervisor Winnebago County, Wisconsin
Daniella Levine Cava Commissioner Miami-Dade County, Florida
Bruce Liggett Human Services Director Maricopa County, Arizona
Kelly Long Supervisor Ventura County, California
Tommy Lyon Chairman Elbert County, Georgia
Daniel Makelky Human Services Director Douglas County, Colorado
Susan Morris Commissioner Isanti County, Minnesota
Kareem Murphy Intergovernmental Relations Hennepin County, Minnesota
Michael Norton Supervisor Winnebago County, Wisconsin
Jennifer Pierce Commissioner Warren County, North Carolina
Rose Pugliese Commissioner Mesa County, Colorado
Steven Reiser Social Service Director McLean County, North Dakota
Max Rodriguez Supervisor Madera County, California
Drucilla Russ-Jackson Commissioner Sumter County, Alabama
Harry Scharmann Commissioner Churchill County, Nevada
Carl Seilstad Commissioner Fergus County, Montana
Charles Selmon Supervisor Warren County, Mississippi
Jeffrey Snyder Commissioner Clinton County, Pennsylvania
Cheryl Ternes Director of Human Services Arapahoe County, Colorado
Frank Thornton Supervisor Henrico County, Virginia
Richard Vanderlick Police Juror Rapides Parish, Louisiana
John Vasquez Supervisor, Chair Solano County, California
Jewel Ware Commissioner Wayne County, Michigan
Lawrence Weekly Commissioner Clark County, Nevada
Ryan Wescoat Auditor Cass County, Missouri
Devon West Legislative Coordinator Broward County, Florida
Dawnafe Whitesinger Supervisor Navajo County, Arizona
Kelly Woodard Director, Department of Social Services Madera County, California