Health Steering Committee

All matters pertaining to public health and healthy communities, including disease and injury prevention and health promotion, health disparities reduction, financing delivering health care.

Learn More


Clay Jenkins County Judge Dallas County, Texas

Vice Chair

Kenneth Dahlstedt Commissioner Skagit County, Washington
Nick Macchione Health & Human Services Agency, Director San Diego County, California
Toni Preckwinkle Board President Cook County, Illinois
Barbara Sharief Commissioner Broward County, Florida

Subcommittee Chair

Ronnie Beale Commissioner Macon County, North Carolina (Public Health & Healthy Communities)
Linda Higgins Commissioner Hennepin County, Minnesota (Medicaid & Indigent Care)
Gloria Whisenhunt Commissioner Forsyth County, North Carolina (Longterm Health)
Derek Young Councilmember Pierce County, Washington (Behavioral Health)

Subcommittee Vice Chair

Lynn Canfield Executive Director, Mental Health Board/DD Board Champaign County, Illinois (Behavioral Health )
Christopher Constance Commissioner Charlotte County, Florida (Public Health & Healthy Communities)
Christopher Coudriet County Manager New Hanover County, North Carolina (Medicaid & Indigent Care)
Susan Garnett CEO, MHMR Tarrant County, Texas (Behavioral Health )
Kristin Gaspar Supervisor San Diego County, California (Behavioral Health)
Dave Lucas Director of Finance and Intergovernmental Affairs New York State Association of Counties (Medicaid & Indigent Care)
Carol Moehrle Public Health Director - Idaho North Central District Nez Perce County, Idaho (Public Health & Healthy Communities)
Chester Pintarelli Administrator, Medical Care Iron County, Michigan (Longterm Health)
Lauren Staley-Ferry Board Member Will County, Illinois (Public Health & Healthy Communities)
Annette Straughter Police Juror Lincoln Parish, Louisiana (Longterm Health)


Francis Andrepont Police Juror Calcasieu Parish, Louisiana
Becky Barnes Administrator Of Health Services Hamilton County, Tennessee
Myron Bateman Commissioner Tooele County, Utah
Vaughn Begick Commissioner Bay County, Michigan
Renee Beniak Executive Director Michigan County Medical Care Facilities Council
Lloyd Brown Councilmember Iberia Parish, Louisiana
Drew Campbell Commissioner Blue Earth County, Minnesota
Michele Chadwick Chair, State Hospital North Advisory Board Gem County, Idaho
Wilma Chan Supervisor Alameda County, California
Gary Cox Director, Health Department Oklahoma County, Oklahoma
Kathi Cozzone Commissioner Chester County, Pennsylvania
Richard Crouch Supervisor Mills County, Iowa
Joyce Cusack Council Member Volusia County, Florida
Bryan Desloge Commissioner Leon County, Florida
Jim Doherty Commissioner Morrow County, Oregon
Christa Duplantis-Prather Councilwoman Terrebonne Parish Consolidated Government, Louisiana
Karen Eoff Council Member Hawaii County, Hawaii
Pat Farr Commissioner Lane County, Oregon
Theodore Fountaine Police Juror Rapides Parish, Louisiana
Dan Gibbs Commissioner Summit County, Colorado
John Gioia Supervisor Contra Costa County, California
Elizabeth Gomez Health Care Assistance Program Coordinator San Juan County, New Mexico
Ramon Gonzalez Commissioner Dona Ana County, New Mexico
Merle Green Health Director Guilford County, North Carolina
Marion Greene Commissioner Hennepin County, Minnesota
Roger Harrell Health Officer Dorchester County, Maryland
Brandon Hinton Assistant Deputy County Manager for Community Services Henrico County, Virginia
Brenda Holt Commissioner Gadsden County, Florida
Lincoln Hough Associate Commissioner Greene County, Missouri
Andy Hunthausen Commissioner Lewis And Clark County, Montana
Nancy Jackson Commissioner Arapahoe County, Colorado
Kristie Jacobsen Deputy Director South Dakota Counties
Larry Johnson Commissioner DeKalb County, Georgia
Steve Johnson Commissioner Larimer County, Colorado
Richard Jorgensen Coroner DuPage County, Illinois
Jeff Kuhr Executive Director, Health Department Mesa County, Colorado
Robert Larsen Board Member DuPage County, Illinois
Matthew Linn Commissioner Caddo Parish, Louisiana
Natalia Macker Commissioner Teton County, Wyoming
Dan Martindale Public Health Director El Paso County, Colorado
Fred McClure Commissioner Davidson County, North Carolina
Tom McCoy Commissioner Sherman County, Oregon
Jack McKernan Commissioner Lycoming County, Pennsylvania
David McKinney Director of Legislative Affairs Shelby County, Tennessee
Jim Meece Commissioner Parke County, Indiana
Gerald Michel Councilman Terrebonne Parish Consolidated Government, Louisiana
Cindy Mills Commissioner Forsyth County, Georgia
Sandra Murman Commissioner Hillsborough County, Florida
Lisa Nelson Council Member St. Martin Parish, Louisiana
Toni Pappas Commissioner Hillsborough County, New Hampshire
Sarah Petersen Welfare Director Codington County, South Dakota
Valerie Poindexter Council Member Hawaii County, Hawaii
Helen Price-Johnson Commissioner Island County, Washington
Phyllis Randall Chair-at-Large Loudoun County, Virginia
Helene Reed Surrogate Gloucester County, New Jersey
Lauren Reichelt Health & Human Services Director Rio Arriba County, New Mexico
Janice Rettman Commissioner Ramsey County, Minnesota
Rocaille Roberts Director, Office of Policy and Planning Harris County, Texas
Julie Rogers Commissioner Kalamazoo County, Michigan
Richard Sanchez Director, Health Care Agency Orange County, California
Karen Scherra Executive Director, Mental Health & Recovery Board Clermont County, Ohio
Loretta Smith Commissioner Multnomah County, Oregon
Helen Stone Commissioner Chatham County, Georgia
Ginnie Storlie Commissioner Cook County, Minnesota
David Stout Commissioner El Paso County, Texas
Laurie Summers Board Member Will County, Illinois
Troy Thompson Commissioner Laramie County, Wyoming
Anthony Trotman Assistant County Manager Mecklenburg County, North Carolina
Susan Wheelan Deputy Director, Public Health El Paso County, Colorado
Doreen Williams Commissioner Rockdale County, Georgia
Fred Wilson Commissioner Calhoun County, Alabama
Kenneth Wilson County Administrator Franklin County, Ohio
Janet Wolf Supervisor Santa Barbara County, California
Sheryl Wood Associate Director Montana Association of Counties
Ken Yeager Supervisor Santa Clara County, California