Rural Action Caucus

Rural Impact County Challenge
Recognizing the critical role local officials play in supporting innovation and change, NACo and the White House Rural Council have come together on a national initiative to help advance counties’ efforts to reduce the number of rural children and families living in poverty

Learn more

NACo's Rural Action Caucus (RAC) is a key component of NACo.  RAC is the voice for America's rural counties before Congress and the Administration.  Nearly two-thirds of the nation's 3,069 counties are designated as rural, with a combined population of 60 million.

County elected officials from these rural areas are dedicated to solving many critical issues impacting rural life and development. These include infrastructure development, broadband deployment, development of new rural clinics and hospitals, road and bridge construction and maintenance, business development opportunities and many more county responsibilities.

Since 1997, NACo's Rural Action Caucus has addressed critical federal, state and local issues.

Latest Resources

Get involved with RAC.  Individual county officials or staff from NACo member counties are eligible to join. RAC members receive periodic updates on key issues affecting rural counties. Learn more:

Caucus Chair

Lynn Padgett
Ouray County, Colo.

Caucus Vice Chairs

J.D. Clark
County Judge
Wise County, Texas

Kenneth Dahlstedt
Skagit County, Wash.

Tommie Martin
Gila County, Ariz.

Mandy Metzger
Coconino County, Ariz.

Michael Victorino
Council Member
Maui County, Hawaii


Arthur Scott
Associate Legislative Director