Transportation Steering Committee

Responsible for all matters pertaining to federal transportation legislation, funding and regulation and its impacts on county government. This includes highway and bridge development, finance and safety, public transit development and finance, transportation planning, airport development and service, passenger and freight railroads, ports and waterways, freight movement, and research and development of new modes of transportation.

Policy Briefs

Latest Resources

  • Press Release | Oct. 25, 2017

    WASHINGTON — The National League of Cities, National Association of Counties and U.S.

  • Advocacy | Jul. 26, 2017

    With the Summer Congressional recess starting Friday, July 28th, county leaders have a great opportunity to advocate for county legislative and regulatory priorities right at home. NACo has put together the following information to help you be an effective advocate during the summer recess.

  • Video | May. 18, 2017

    Representatives from local government, industry and academia discuss the importance of building and investing in broadband infrastructure when building connected communities in the 21st century.

Join a steering committee and make a difference. Learn more about getting involved in NACo's Transportation Steering Committee:

Transportation Steering Committee


Gary Moore
County Judge/Executive
Boone County, Kentucky


Vice Chair

Cindy Bobbitt
Grant County, Oklahoma


Gordon Cruickshank
Commissioner, Chair
Valley County, Idaho


Gary Fickes
Tarrant County, Texas


Scott Haggerty
Alameda County, California


Peter McLaughlin
Hennepin County, Minnesota


Subcommittee Chair

William Altimus (Transit/Rail)
Parish Administrator
Bossier Parish, Louisiana


Bill Holen (Airports)
Arapahoe County, Colorado


Randy Maluchnik (Highway/Highway Safety)
Carver County, Minnesota


Jack Mariano (Ports)
Pasco County, Florida


Featured Experts