County Seats

New and Improved! We're rolling out a new feature which contains everything you've come to expect from Find a County, with even more information and data to explore. 

Want to check it out? Click here to explore the new feature with a step-by-step guide on how to access all the data. 

​The County Seat is the administrative center, or seat of government for a county. Most counties have only one county seat. However, some counties have two county seats, usually located on opposite sides of the county.  There are 33 counties with two county seats in 11 states.  The county courthouse and county administration offices are usually located in the county seat, but some county functions may be conducted in other parts of the county, especially if it is geographically large.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​